Monday, November 30, 2009

Broken promises in Hickory Woods


If you get a chance, I hope you read this article in today's Buffalo News by Phil Fairbanks. The article is about the Hickory Woods neighborhood today. I was surprised to learn that Richard Lippes, the Environmental lawyer who represented the homeowners got 1/3 of the $7 million dollar settlement. Can you imagine how much good he will now be able to do for the environment?


Lippes should give 2/3 of that money to Joseph Gardella. He's the UB Chemistry professor that really stuck his neck out for the neighborhood residents. Every time City Hall would come out with one of their lies, Gardella would refute it with the scientific facts.


It was really nice to see the neighbors mention my brother Pat and his son Matthew. It shows that they care about their neighbors as much as about themselves. Matthew was born legally blind with severe birth defects. They say God doesn't give people more challenges than they can handle. This is true in this situation. Many people wanted Patrick to put Matthew in a home. He did. He put him in two homes. His and Matthew's grandmother's. If you met Matthew, you would quickly realize he is a gift. No other way to describe him. Patrick notes his vision has improved recently. He is 14 years old now. For the first 13 years of his life, he needed to be dragged up the porch to get in his grandmothers house. Yesterday, I went to help his grandmother drag him up the stairs. Matthew bolted by himself up six or seven stairs and into the house without using a railing. My mother told me he recently began doing this on his own. You want to talk about a tough kid. The article mentions that they've recently moved. It should be noted that Patrick and Matthew still live in South Buffalo.


There are many great residents living in the Hickory Woods. I wish all them the best of luck dealing with this difficult situation.

Pridgen's Act of Kindness




The Reverend Darius Pridgen invited Brian Milligan and his family to his church yesterday. Milligan is the young white teen beaten by three black teens for no apparent reason except his color. Milligan dates a young black girl. Syndicated columnist Leonard Pitts has even called for the defendants to be charged with a hate crime.

In a great act of kindness, Pridgen and his congregation handed Milligan a check for $600 and gave him a standing ovation. Milligan seems like a good young guy. He just wants the defendants to tell him why they attacked him. He has no memory of the attack. When asked why they attacked Milligan, one of the defendants told detectives, "because we felt like it." I hope this statement gets them the maximum sentence.

I give Pridgen credit for speaking out on controversial issues like this one. Weeks ago, he called on his congregation to help find the attackers. Milligan's father believed this helped in the investigation. Random acts of violence like this should never be tolerated. However, Pridgen deserves credit for trying to make something positive come out of the situation.

Congregation opens its heart to beating victim*

Jackson Merits Starting Job Over Lynch


Anyone who watches football will tell you Fred Jackson has turned into a better Running Back than Marshawn Lynch. There should have never been any debate after watching both of them play. Jackson can run, block, and catch the ball out of the backfield better than Lynch. He also seems to have a better ability to find the holes in the defenses. The only reason Lynch played over him was because he was much more heralded out of college.

When I saw the way Jauron handled the situation, it was apparent to me that he had to go. I can't tell you what makes a good football player but I know it when I see it. The issue last year with the hit and run involving Lynch should have been his ticket out of town. Who brings their own liquor bottles with them when they go out on Chippewa St?
Jackson is a winner. Lynch is a CFLer. It really comes down to that. It's time to give Freddy the majority of the carries.
Jackson thrives on the action as starter*

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Amherst Gets Serious About Enforcing Residency-When Will Buffalo?


Superintendent James Williams with a concerned look on his face. Perhaps he knows he might have to publicly discuss residency regarding his employees someday.


James Kane, Dr. Williams' Chief of Staff and Buffalo's highest paid residency violator.


This was a recent article in The Buffalo News concerning residency. It looks like Amherst Town Supervisor Satish Mohan is cleaning house. A few violators tried to use the old Tony Farina "cheap apartment trick" but the courts ruled in the town's favor.

I'd like to see Mayor Brown and Superintendent Williams enforce the residency law. Informed sources tell me that William's chief-of-staff James Kane and Commissioner Jim Comerford both dwell in the suburbs. From what I hear, they are not alone. You can't live in Buffalo and work in Amherst but you can be a Commissioner in Buffalo and live in Amherst. Just ask director of physical education Dave "Donuts" Thomas. He has a beautiful house in East Amherst. Come on guys. Coming to South Buffalo on the weekends to have a few drinks is not the same as living here. You are not fooling your friendly neighborhood blogger. Come down to Tosh Collins and join me out in the community with all the families that pay your salaries (and incidentally, read this blog every week). I could use some help coaching. Oh, I'm sorry. That would require you giving something back to the community. I'm sorry. I must have misspoke.
Residency suits’ claims dismissed*
On behalf of all Buffalo taxpayers, I'd like to dedicate the following song to you guys: Baby Come Back. We really miss you here in the neighborhood.

crime stats 11/16-11/22




Thank you to Chief Brian Strobele for this week's crime statistics. Tops at S. Park/Bailey was not robbed this week. This is not a misprint.

Monday Nov 16th

322 Woodside--larceny from a car---7" flipout TV and 3 paintball guns stolen.
531 McKinley--larceny--rebate check stolen from Mailbox.
43 Folger--larceny--bike stolen

2250 Seneca--larceny of a bike

Weiss/Clinton--assaultsuspect listed.

36 Pomona--Contempt of court order--suspect listed.

36 Harvel Pl--tresspass--suspect listed.
6 Yale--1 arrest--Obstructing Govt Administartion---Michael Mayers..Center rd ..west Seneca

Tuesday Nov 17th

2176 Seneca--Assault--warrant card issued
1532 Seneca--1 arrest--Loitering---Renee Glab..Lyman st

350 Perry apt G--Burglary--door kicked in Kitchen Cabinets,stove stolen

19 Armin--Burglary--2 bikes,Nintendo DS stolen.

113 Aldrich--UUV

159 Columbus--crim mis/larceny from a car---lock popped out...Stereo,IPOD,keys stolen.

30 Sidway--crim mis/larceny from a car---door damages...CD changer,GPS,Ping Golf clubs stolen.

568 S Park--larceny--money stolen...suspect listed.

78 Griswold--crim mis/larceny from car--alarm wires cut...sub woofer,amp stolen.

19 Euclid--crim mis--2 tires slashed.

102 Athol--ID Theft

202 Wiemer--phone harassment

31 Sheffield--Burglary--1 arrest--Justin Harris...May st

28 Kamper--Assault--suspect listed.

261 S Legion--Issuing Bad Check--suspect listed.

341 Seneca--RUUV

Foot of Smith--RUUV

Wednesday Nov 18th

1738 S Park--Burglary--ladder used to 2nd floor window--Cash,jewelry,video games stolen.
727 Bailey--Assault--several suspects listed.

Stevenson/Mineral Springs--harassment--unk male on red bike did follow female off school bus.

762 Exchange--harassment--suspect listed.

289 Hamburg--Assault--1 arrest--Arron Sworn--No Permanent Address.

61 Dingens--1 arrest for Robbery from 11-15-09..Ryan Thomas...

Seneca/Southside--harassmnet--warrant card issued.

1005 McKinley--Assault--1 arrest---Kelvin Garcia..Mumford st

Thursday Nov 19th

9 Pulaski--crim mis--steering column damaged.

17 Lockwood--larceny from a car--radio faceplate stolen.

O'Connell/Vincennes--larceny--cash stolen from unlocked vehicle.

187 Smith--Forgery--attempt to cash check on closed account.

115 Newman--Assault---suspect listed.

164 Barnard--harassment--1 arrest---Steven Brodewicz

48 Cazenovia--Harassment--suspect listed.

15 Norman--crim mis--mailbox damaged.

911 Abbott--tresspassing--1 arrest--Ernest Wright...Burgard pl

Friday Nov 20th

82 Wescott--Home Invasion--2 unk male suspects kicked in door,took cash ,jewelry damaged phone.

151 Amber--Burglary--tv stolen,appliances stolen...suspect listed.

142 Pomona--larceny from a car--wallet stolen,stereo damaged--car was parked in fenced in yard.

89 Sage--Robbery--suspect listed.

1345 S Park--crim mis/larceny from a vehicle--window broken--cash & checks stolen.

1853 Clinton--harassmnet--suspect listed.

24 Hubbell--1 arrest--drugs--Thereon Collins..Center rd...Lackawanna

S Park/Crystal---harassment---partial suspect description listed.

1479 Clinton--1 arrest...V&T/Drugs--Enrique Calix...Aldrich st

14 Wasson--crim mis--broken windows.

Saturday Nov 21st

2066 S Park--assault--suspect listed.

35 Weyand--Robbery--suspect listed.

31 Spaulding--crim mis/larceny from a car--dash damaged--radio stolen.

565 Abbott--larceny--unk B/F did pry open cash drawer for PRO Park and did remove $70.00

154 Woodside--assault--1 arrest---Timothy Mason

415 Fulton--crim mis--car damaged--suspect listed.

S Park/Louisianna--1 arrest--drugs--Moses Harrison...E Eagle st

137 Milton--crim mis--1 arrest--Thomas Kozacza...Imson st12105 Seneca--Assault--1 arrest--Richard Cayan...Imson st

2066 S Park--assault--1 arrest from assault earlier in night---Bernard Dipasquale Jr...Willowlawn Pkwy..Cheek.

117 Amber--Phone harassment--suspect listed.

Sunday Nov 22nd

2076 S park--crim mis--air conditioner damaged.

418 S park--1 arrest--poss of knife/disorderly conduct--Porter Jones...Sweet st

35 Weyand--previous larceny reported--1 arrest---James Schuler---Weyand st

123 Kimberly--Burglary--door forced...cash stolen.

401 Willet--larceny--ID,bank card stolen from car.

86 Pontiac--crim mis--visor in car damaged,vehicle rummaged thru

Seneca/Maurice--Assault--warrant card issued.
396 Abbott--Assault--warrant card issued.

16 Hayden--Burglary--school entered by unknow means,office window broken...several items stolen.

Foot of Spann--2 arrests--drugs---Louis fernandez...Lincoln...Dunkirk NY,Maria Chevez..N Main st...Dunkirk Ny

38 Ridgewood---tresspassing---2 suspects described.

219 S Legion---larceny from a car--cd stereo stolen

2402 S Park--menacing--1 arrest---Amparo Rosa..Lockwood

2119 S Park--crim mis--2 windows broken

You'll Be Seeing This Story on Forensic Files


This bizarre story sounds like a Gene Wilder movie from the 1980s. A 63 year old woman in Sweden was found dead by her husband after taking her dog for a walk. The husband was immediately charged and spent 10 days in jail before being released due to lack of evidence. Saliva and hair samples taken from the scene appear to prove that the woman was killed by a wild elk. It makes you wonder just how many innocent people sat in jail cells before current advances in DNA technology.
Police consider death by elk in murder case - The Local

Graber Leaves West Seneca Residents With a November Surprise


When West Seneca was discussing it's downsizing vote, all indications were that the vote was going to be close. It was hysterical listening to Town Councilman Vince Graber, who stood to lose his seat on the pension gravy train, tell people why the town needed to keep their current number of councilmembers so they wouldn't lose their "representation". What a joke. Good thing the voters saw right through his status quo nonsense. Graber lost. On his way out the door, Vince the Prince created a resolution that regardless of need, the buildings and grounds department will always have 14 full time workers and two foreman. What a coincidence! From today's letters to the editor, it looks like Graber's resolution will ensure that at least two of his relatives keep their government appointed jobs. Vincent Graber and the three other councilmembers supporting his resolution: working for themselves in direct opposition to the taxpayers.

From today's Buffalo News:

West Seneca contract preserves the status quo

Little words mean a lot. Who ever thought the word “endeavor” would be costly to the taxpayers of West Seneca? Thanks to Councilman Vince Graber’s resolution at the Nov. 16 board meeting, that word was removed from a union contract. That contract now ensures that, regardless of need, the buildings and grounds department will always have 14 full-time workers and two foremen.

At a time when every municipality is trying to eliminate positions through attrition, Graber wants to ensure positions at all cost to the taxpayers. He offered no explanation for his resolution, nor did any of the council members voting with him. Supervisor Wallace Piotrowski voted against the resolution with full explanation. Kudos to him.

I would hope that union contracts would require more thought than someone’s whim to ensure jobs for relatives and friends. How can this action be valid? Don’t contracts involve both parties? Obviously, Graber and the three other council members have forgotten who they are working for. I hope that taxpayers will remember this at future elections.

Karen Lucachik

West Seneca

Saturday, November 28, 2009

Honey...Have You Seen My Right Arm?




This was today's front page story in The Buffalo News. The Wisniewski's from the town of Charlotte (16 miles South of Fredonia) have an animal sanctuary in their backyard. Kenneth Wisniewski works as a carnie and they live in what is described as a "run down house trailer". Get a good look at the Wisniewski's limbs as I have a feeling they will be missing some soon. They like to pet their lions, tigers, wolves, and bears through their makeshift dog cages and like to let the tigers lick their faces. Great idea.
Donna Fernandes of the Buffalo Zoo commented on this practice for the story,"We would not encourage our members to do that. Aside from the inherent danger, there are a number of diseases which can be transmitted from cats to humans." To say nothing about the possible diseases transmitted from hillbillies to cats.

Neighbors in this rural town are not concerned. They're just happy reporters aren't asking questions about what might be going on in their backyards.

Lions, tigers and bears find refuge : City & Region : The Buffalo News




Jack Blake This Friday at the Blarney Castle


I invite everyone to come out to the Blarney Castle on South Park Avenue this Friday December 4th at 9PM to check out my brother Jack's band. Jack is very good on the guitar. They play mostly Beatles, CCR, and Rolling Stones songs mixed in with some Lil Wayne classics. If you are looking to get out of the house and have a few drinks, stop by. You will know people there. Who knows? Maybe, they'll play this song by CCR...

Friday, November 27, 2009

Run For Your Lives


Ignore That Woman Holding the Pointer


As I suspected last week, several Belgian doctors are asking questions regarding the amazing story of Rom Houben. Houben, you might remember, is the 46 year old car crash victim reported to have been falsely diagnosed as being in a coma for 23 years. Coincidentally, the same thing has been said about NY State Senator Bill Stachowski.

Some experts think the woman controlling the pointer is answering the questions for him. There are several ways to find out. The simplest would be to ask him questions about reality TV, fashion, The View, or Barbara Streisand with the woman guiding his hand. If he knows any of the answers, we know it's her communicating, or it's him and he's just gay. I do hope it is him communicating though. If it's not, the Balloon boy's father thinks it was a ridiculous hoax.

Autistic Hacker Extradited to US


This story from Reuters was kind of funny. The UK won't block the extradition of Gary McKinnon to the US for illegally accessing computers and causing $700,000 worth of damages. McKinnon has been diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome, which is a form of autism. All he did was hack into computers at the Pentagon and NASA. Give the guy a break. It's not like there is anything important going on there. McKinnon claims he was looking for signs of alien life and is described as a "UFO eccentric". The article doesn't report whether he found any or not. If convicted, McKinnon could face up to 70 years in prison.
Government won't stop hacker's extradition to U.S.

http://uk.reuters.com/article/email/idUKGEE5AP2H120091127




Thursday, November 26, 2009

Thanksgiving Jive Turkeys

Please click on picture. Then click on the 2nd picture for a better view.






Your 2009 jive turkeys from left to right Tim Kennedy, Brian Higgins, the ethically challenged Ray McGurn, and Marge "Queen of self promotion" Ryan. They all told you to vote for Byron Brown over one of their own neighbors and fellow Democrat Michael Kearns. Brown announced nearly 18 million dollars in funding this week, none of which was earmarked for South Buffalo. We know the mayor has been good to the turkeys pictured here and all of their incompetant friends and relatives but what about the rest of us? Thanks and happy Thanksgiving from your local blogger.

Turkey Drop

The best Thanksgiving sitcom episode ever:the WKRP Turkey Drop episode. Mr Carlson,"As God as my witness, I thought turkeys could fly." Les Nessman is one of the greatest TV news characters of all time.

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Two Faced Dave


The Harvard Cup football game will be played tomorrow between Burgard HS and Riverside HS. If the cameras are around, you know you will find Buffalo Public Schools' Athletic Director Dave Thomas. A source from the Burgard maintenance staff tells me Thomas showed up at the school's pep rally and told them how he wanted Burgard to win the game because they were from such a "well run" (his words) smaller program.

It will be interesting to hear what my friends at Riverside think about that. I'm sure he went there and told them the same thing. This guy is the most two faced person I know. He doesn't care who wins. All he cares about is getting as much money as he can from city residents for himself and his son (whom he also hired and is paying to coach 3 sports). This blowhard lives in East Amherst.

I remember jogging around the indoor track at the ECC city campus during the MLK basketball tournament last year. One of the local news stations was interviewing a player and Thomas kept on walking back and forth behind him just so he could be seen on camera. I felt sorry for Thomas. It was the most embarrassing display of self promotion I ever witnessed. Good luck at the game tomorrow, residency violator.

This Day in History 11/25




1963-John F. Kennedy was laid to rest in Arlington National Cemetery in Virginia.


2002-George W. Bush signed a bill creating the Department of Homeland Security.


1952- The Mousetrap by Agatha Christie, opened in London. It would become the world's longest running play. At every curtain call, the murderer swears the audience to secrecy.


1999-Elian Gonzalez was rescued at sea. He would become the subject of an international custody battle. His father wanted him back in Cuba. His uncle wanted him to stay in the US. What I remember about this debacle was the guy who rescued him. He stayed with the kid as much as he could and tried to get on every TV show imagineable. This guy wanted to use the kid to get his 15 minutes of fame. He became known as "the fisherman" until it was learned that he was unemployed and not very good at fishing.

When a Hate Crime is Not a Hate Crime


Three people were arrested in the beating of Brian Milligan on the city's East side this summer. Milligan is the white teenager with the black girlfriend. The three suspects are black teenagers.

I never was big on the term "hate crime". It seems to me that a crime is a crime. If a judge is presented with evidence that a crime is committed because of a person's race, they should feel obligated to sentence the convicted to the maximum sentence under the current law. I never felt like a separate law needed to be created, especially when it is only selectively enforced.


Having said that, Byron Brown's comments at the press conference were ridiculous. He said the crime didn't happen because of race but was just "senseless, pointless, violence", as if what they did was just teenagers being teenagers. If it's true, that's even more reason to throw the book at these three lowlifes. They beat a random kid nearly to death with concrete for no reason because he was walking in their neighborhood? If the same crime happened on Seneca St, and three white scumbags beat up an innocent black kid (because he had a white girlfriend), would that not be a hate crime? Actually, it's the definition of a hate crime. Oh well, just another day in Buffalo. Don't worry, they'll be sentenced to three hugs and be out committing violent acts again soon.

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Infamous TV Characters-Officer Carl Levitt



Carl Levitt was the diminutive police officer on the 70s/early 80s show Barney Miller. He was played by actor Ron Carey. Carey passed away in 2006 at the age of 71. Levitt would stop at nothing to achieve his goal of becoming a detective. If he lived in Buffalo, all he'd have to do is make large donations to area politicians.

Levitt was known for sucking up to Captain Miller. From time to time, he would tattle on his fellow officers. Aren't people like this fun to work with? They exist at every job where there are more than four employees. What kind of an adult tells on other adults? Anyway, I couldn't find any clips on Officer Levitt. Those of you as old as me will remember his character from the show.

On This Day in History 11/24/09


1971-D.B. Cooper parachuted from a plane with $200,000 and was never heard from again. God bless him.

1859-Charles Darwin published a book about evolution called On the Origin of Species in which he claimed that man evolved from apes. This theory was eventually proven true in 2000 when Joel Giambra was elected Erie County Executive.

1963- America got an early look at reality TV as Dallas nightclub owner Jack Ruby fatally shot Lee Harvey Oswald. This video is still shocking to me today. They say everyone thought Ruby was a secret service agent as he had no press credentials. I think he had a great deal of influence in Dallas and somehow was able to get security to look the other way. In any event, I wonder how the press would react today if this happened. Some speculate the killing was done on a whim as Ruby left his favorite dog, Sheba, in his parked car at the time of the event (the things you can learn from this blog)...


Monday, November 23, 2009

Random Thoughts From the Ghetto-Volume 14



I look out my window and see the empty 40 oz beer bottles, hypodermic needles, crack pipes and abandoned shopping carts left on my front lawn. I begin to think. The end results have become known as my random thoughts from the ghetto...

These random thoughts taste great and are less filling:

-I always find it funny when someone shows up drunk to a place where drunk people shouldn't be. Showing up at church or their place of employment are the obvious ones. I saw a case this week where a mail carrier passed out drunk inside the kitchen at one of her stops. The person living there was 85 years old and didn't recognize her, even though she was in full uniform. She ended up calling the police because she thought it was an intruder. How do you explain yourself out of that one?

-There should be a law that Christmas music cannot be played on the radio until four days before Christmas each year. Let me celebrate Thanksgiving first. Most of those songs are so depressing, too. Just listen to a few of them. I listened to Christmas songs on the way back from North Carolina last Christmas and thought about driving off of a cliff. I've already heard Bruce Springsteen's Santa Claus is Coming to Town 13 times this year and it's not even December yet.

-Despite being banned from it a few years ago, I still read the Metro Community News Steam column each week. I saw recently that someone was upset that Thomas McCarthy was getting an award from Bishop Timon. I guess another person started the whole controversy by complimenting him for cleaning St Teresa's church. My guess is the critic just wanted credit because she did clean the church. Maybe she does deserve credit for this. Who knows?
All I know is that Mr. McCarthy is a very nice guy. He has not forgotten the Seneca St. neighborhood. He sponsored his grandson's team at Tosh Collins a few years ago and I had a nice conversation with him and his family. Marty Nightengale was also very good about supporting the neighborhood. Joe Quinn, on the other hand. He told me no thanks, despite every member of my family being waked there. I'll tell you this. When I meet my demise, they better not try and have my wake at Quinn's. If they do, I'll get up from out of the casket and walk over to either McCarthy's or Nightengale's. If I do decide on McCarthy's, I'll probably stop at Tim Horton's next door and grab a donut first.

-The Tosh Collins soccer league started last week. I never get tired of this league. The kids are so excited to be learning the game. It brings me back to when I played there 65 years ago. One of my favorite things back then were the neighborhood rivalries. With many of the catholic schools closing, we may have lost some of that. However, the 3rd and 4th graders at my current school are so excited to be playing in the league. We played on Monday night. From Tuesday until Friday, that was all they talked about at school. I know many soccer parents read this. Thank you for helping us continue this great tradition.

-Has anyone else ever looked over at another driver and seen someone wearing a clown suit? This has happened to me a few times. It always cracks me up. One time, I noticed the car next to me had four clowns in it and one of them was smoking a cigarette. I was laughing so loud. It was the closest I ever came to a one car traffic accident.

-Whoever invented exploding dye packs was a genius. Can you imagine robbing a bank and having red paint explode all over your face and body? Hilarious. That's the ultimate April fools prank.


-I'm hearing reports that the young Hillary lad is the latest connected South Buffalonian to get hired in the Buffalo Schools over yours truly. He played soccer for me when he was 7 years old. I guess a master's degree in Education and 19 years of volunteer experience are overrated. I'll tell you this. If it's true, Lou Petrucci will have some competition this upcoming May in the school board election. I honestly was not interested in running for the seat, however, this latest incident is just another slap in the face and I might not have any other choice. Suburban resident James Kane likes to lie. He recommends everyone from South Buffalo that gets hired. I invite this former South Buffalo resident to come back to the city and move next to the Buffalo Public School students that pay his exorbitant salary. This new job, if my sources are correct, had to get approved by the board. It's not what you know, it's who you know. It's ok. I know as this blog continues to generate more readers that these guys won't want to become the lead story. Well, they might want to consider getting used to it, or better yet, stop lying so much.
I hope, for their sake, they've packed a lunch...

-That's all I got this week. Thank you to all my readers. This blog is now getting 70 hits per day with no advertising. If you see an interesting article on here that you think someone else might appreciate, it's very easy to email the article or post it on Facebook or Twitter. This would help me to generate more readers. Let's hope the world doesn't end in 2012 like some are predicting. If we're lucky, maybe we'll live to the year 2525. Go forth and sin no more...

Car Accident Victim in Coma Actually Awake for 23 Years


This was sent to me by my friend and Unbalanced correspondent Marty Farrell. It is an article about Rom Houben, a man thought to be trapped in a coma for 23 years after a car accident. According to the article, he's been aware of his surroundings and just unable to communicate. So actually, he was never really in a coma. He was trapped in his own body and could hear every word his friends and family were saying. If it's accurate and not embellished to further Fox News' conservative agenda, it is an incredible story.

On This Day in History 11/23/36


The first issue of Life Magazine was published. Here is one of my all time favorite pictures from the magazine: It shows a GI returning home from WWII in New York City and kissing a complete stranger. They didn't have all the digital technology we have today, and obviously didn't need it, either. This was a great shot.

Sunday, November 22, 2009

This Day in History 11/22/63





Sad day in US history. Listening to Walter Cronkite report the news, I can only imagine the shock that must have went across the country when it was reported that JFK had been assasinated in Dallas, Texas. One thing that's gone away in the age of the internet and text messages is the shock of the televised special report.




Here is a song by Dion that I know my sister Debbie, a local Presidential historian will appreciate. It is called Abraham, Martin, and John. There is a great quote in it attributed to Abraham Lincoln which I had never heard before, "In the end, it's not the years in your life that count, it's the life in your years."

Nelson Finally Makes the Cut


Congratulations to Willie Nelson for finally being selected as one of People Magazine's 100 most beautiful people in 2009. All I can say is it's about time.

crime stats 11/9-11/15



Thank you to chief Brian Strobele for sending these to me. Hopkins Stop-N-Gas suffered it's monthly robbery, a girl stole her dog back from her ex boyfriend, and there were only two people from my street arrested. It was a slow week. Also, Michael Jackson was arrested in Evans. I thought he was dead. No word yet on whether his white sequined glove was confiscated as evidence...

Monday Nov 9th

2133 S Park--UUV
290 Larkin--threats--suspect listed.
153 Romona--larceny--dog stolen by ex- girlfriend
2133 S Park--shoplifter-unk w/m stole beer
142 Casimir--larceny--2 tires stolen off car
52 Remoleno--larceny--cash stolen--suspect listed.
12 South--crim mis/larceny from a car--lock damaged--radio stolen.
1866 S Park--Burglary--37 " tv stolen.
400 Willet--crim mis--suspect listed.
1777 Clinton--1 arrest --drugs---Jennifer Broad...Spann st
150 Southside--assault--suspect listed.
334 S Ogden--ID theft
Seneca/Cazenovia--traffic stop--1 arrest---Desire Zama-ngonon...Jewitt ave


Tuesday Nov 10th

23 Roseville--larceny--50' copper stolen from under the house.
269 Barnard--larceny from a car---stereo stolen
49/53 Buffum--Burglary--1 arrest--Brian Bickley...Imson st
481 Abbott--shoplifter--unk B/F stole item
35 Roseville--Burglary--victim assaulted in house---suspect listed.
1986 S Park--Larceny from 10-04-09--1 arrest--Christopher OConnor...South Park ave
231 Union Ship Canal--crim mis--truck damaged
86 Woodside--Burglary--ex-tenant destroyed house.
76 Garvey--assault---suspect listed.
698 S Ogden--Viol order of Protection--suspect listed.
209 Cable--assault--1 arrest--Tony Winens
173 Smith--2 warrant arrests---Joshua Bish,David Miszko
11 Downing--assault--suspect listed.
419 Swan--crim mis--windshield broken.
38 Duerstein--harassment--suspect listed.
202 Weimar--drugs--4 arrests---Francis Tessina 1926 Clinton #2,Daniel Chowaniec..Weimar,Christine Guilfoyle..William st..Lancaster,Alicia Davidson..10th st ..Niagara Falls.

Wed Nov 11th

29 Sidway--Home Invasion--2 unk W/M did point sawed off shot gun at victims and stole property.....also stole vehicle 2001 Hyundai 2dsd red,vehicle was recovered on Scoville and impounded.
11 Stevenson--Burglary--change stolen--possible suspect listed.
187 Melrose--UUV
Ohio/Michigan--UUV
1028 McKinley--larceny--several items removed from car--suspect listed.
1460 S Park(TOPS)--shoplifter--1 arrest--Karen Peterson..Houston st
79 E Market--crim mis/larceny from a car--rear window broken---GPS stolen.
2126 Seneca--harassment---suspect listed.
34 Cazenovia--Phone harassment---suspect listed.
A District--1 arrest--warrant--Walter Swinarski..S Lincoln..Orchard Park
8 Keppel--Phone harass--suspect listed.
40 Houston--crim mis--car written on with marker.
701 Seneca--Burglary from 10-7-09--1 arrest---Krystal Rains...Minnesota ave
270 Swan--1 arrest--exposure of a person---Thai Pham...Herkimer st
Chicago/Scott--crim mis--window broken on car.

Thursday Nov 12th

66 Crystal--phone harass--suspect listed.
329 Cable--Burglary--2 arrests--Keith Craver...No Address,Sharon Baldi ..Tuscarora
S park/Moore--crim mis/larceny from a car--window broken--Pioneer stereo stolen.
194 Southside--2 arrests--drugs--Edward C Colliton..Cenetr rd..West Seneca,Dorota Mackowska..Center ..West Seneca
17 Kenefick--1 arrest--harassment---Maria Forcucci
A District--1 arrest---Mark Nolan..Lemon st...Lackawanna
107 Dorothy--larceny.crim mis---several items stolen from 2 trucks parked in the yard.
22 Pries--larceny from 10-25-09--1 arrest---Michael Hoopengarner..Greely st
S Park/Moore--crim mis--window broken on car
726 Exchange(First Niagara Bank)--Robbery--Unk B/M,passed note took large sum of money.
S Park/McCamley--UUV--suspect listed.
2439 Seneca--crim mis--suspect listed--warrant card issued.
244 Cumberland--RUUV
61 Dingens--crim mis--4 tires slashed
S Park/E Market--crim misdash damaged--radio stolen.
Southside/N Legion--assault--victim struck in the forehead by something thrown from a car.
Seneca/Chicago--phone harass---suspect listed.

Friday Nov 13th

649 S Ogden--threats--suspect listed.
223 Maurice--Assault--suspect listed.
202 Cable--larceny--warrant card issued
1944 Seneca--1 arrest --disorderly conduct---Justin Madejrich...Hammerschmidt st
Elk/Smith--harassment--warrant card issued.
273 Barnard--threats
1006 McKinley--larceny--known customer took several packs of cigarettes.
315 Union Ship Canal--crim mis--windows on car broken
Seneca/Chicago--crim mis/larceny from a car--car damaged--several items stolen.
2028 S Park #4--larceny--cellphone,cash stolen from wallet.
1378 S Park--Assault--1 arrest--Wayne Hallman
363 Hopkins(Stop N Gas)--Burglary--3 arrests--Nicholas Pilla..1132.Bailey Ave,Joseph Galioto.65 .McCamley st,James Kukavica..24 Hubbell.--kicked door in stole cigarettes.
2406 S Park--1 arrest--warrant--William Frank..Amherst NY
647 Bailey--crim mis--Gang Box damaged at construction site.

Sat Nov 14th

Seneca/Maywood--Robbery-2 unk B/M's robbed cell phone a skateboard from victim.
36 Glendhu--larceny from a car---cash stolen.
2097 Seneca--shoplifter--1 arrest---John Rivers.Arkansas st
155 Bailey(NOCO)--shoplifetr--unk W/M,stole beer fled on Bailey
78 Griswold--larceny from a car--face plate,amp stolen.
78 Griswold--larceny from a car--GPS,Camera,Marine GPS stolen.
111 Hubbell--larceny from a car--CD's,Cash,XM radio,GPS power cord.
32 Hubbell--larceny from a car--Radar detector,wallet,cash stolen.
130 Hubbell--crim mis--overhead lightinside car broken.
35 Roseville--Burglary from 11-10-09--1 arrest--Patrick Donohue..Harvey

Sunday Nov 15th

61 Dingens--Robbery--suspects listed....1 arest made today 11-18-09--Ryan Thomas,W/F..Weyand st
38 Duerstein--crim mis/larceny from a car--lock broken--GPS,Radio stolen.
A District--1 arrest--warrant---Michael Jackson..Derby Rd ..Evans NY
261 S Legion--assault--suspect listed.
2189 S Park--1 arrest--DWI/drugs---Francisco Torres...Marilla st
86 Polish Pl--1 arrest---David Krygier--Viol order of Protection.
37 Olcott--threats--suspect listed.
106 Kamper--Assault--1 arrest---Keith Cramer...Wheelock st
31 Sheffifeld--tresspass---suspect listed.
51 Buffalo st---crim mis/larceny from a car--car stereo,speakers,amp stolen & tools

Amherst Tree Killer


This was an upsetting story in today's Buffalo News. Developer William Huntress is allowed to cut down countless trees on his Wehrle Dr. property because of lax tree laws in Amherst. He's only had to pay about $1000 in fines and his work has been allowed to continue. He even has Paul Cambria representing him. Fortunately, what the town won't do, the neighbors will. They are taking pictures, video, and contacting the local media.

This guy sounds like a total jerk. The last thing Amherst needs is more office parks. I'd like to see some judge sentence this guy to community service. They should make him plant five trees for every one he's knocked down. The whole town was built years ago on wetlands. Where do people like Huntress expect all the wildlife to go? Somebody should go bulldoze his house.
Town's lax tree laws fuel anger : Home: The Buffalo News

Saturday, November 21, 2009

Next Time Call a Cab



From today's Buffalo News: They say misery loves company. A guy from Depew was charged with DWI. He decided to call his friend, one of my drunken neighbors from Koester St., to pick him up at the State Police barracks. Bad idea. He was also charged with DWI when he showed up drunk to pick up the first guy. The first guy should have just told the police his last name was Keane, Kane, Comerford, Lotempio, etc. Not only would police have let him go without any charges. They probably would have given him an escort home and named their first born sons after him.

Man called by DWI suspect for a ride charged with DWI

A Buffalo man called to pick up a drunken Depew man at the State Police barracks Wednesday evening was arrested by troopers after driving to the barracks drunk, police said.

The initial DWI charge was lodged against Ronald R. Taylor, 39, of Transit Road, who was spotted talking on his cell phone on the Thruway at about 7:20 p. m. When Taylor’s ride home, Terry L. Branka, 40, of Koester Street, arrived to pick him up, he also was charged with DWI, police said.

Another man, a Lancaster resident, arrived later to take both men home. He was not drunk, police said.

Friday, November 20, 2009

Guy in Chicken Suit Crashes Council Meeting

A guy crashes a televised Durango, Co. city council meeting (on hen ordinances) dressed as a yellow chicken, as a Durango city councilman (wearing a purple scarf) speaks on the issue. Can you imagine pulling such a stunt and going out in public dressed like that? And the guy in the chicken suit. He should probably be embarrassed, too...



Brown Snubs South Buffalo-Again


The mayor came out with his budget for capital improvements. Despite an $18 million budget, South Buffalo is getting nothing. South District Councilmember Mickey Kearns has gone so far to take out an ad in this week's Metro Community News.

Mayor Brown's spokesman claims that the budget is decided by a Citizens Planning Council. I know from experience that these planning committees are usually stuffed with political asskissers whose jobs depend on people like Mayor Urkel, Brian Higgins, etc. Since it's our money we're talking about, I'd like to see just who sits on this committee. They need to report to this blogger immediately. I'll guarantee it has a few South Buffalo bottom feeders on it. Remember,these Commissioners from South Buffalo don't care about your neighborhood. They only care about preserving future jobs for themselves and their mongoloid kids. You're going to tell me Mayor Brown approved a recommendation that allowed South Buffalo to get nothing out of $18 million dollars? What an insult to Ray McGurn and the five other South Buffalo fools that told you to support him. Here is a channel 4 news story by Rich Newberg regarding the money we won't be seeing any time soon. A special thanks to all the South Bflo political leaders that supported Mayor Urkel over one of their own neighbors...

Neighbors Upset About HSBC Closing


I found the following article from today's Buffalo News to be interesting. An HSBC bank on Fillmore and Glenwood has decided to close. HSBC officials say it is simply a business decision. Some neighborhood residents claim the bank was so limited in it's hours and services that it was destined for failure.


Ironically, Larrone Williams, the activist leading a petition drive to reopen the bank, doesn't do his banking there. He banks somewhere else. HSBC officials say there are three other HSBC banks within a three mile radius of the former bank. They also point out that there is a Citizen's Bank, M & T Bank, and Bank of America within a couple of miles of the closed branch. It might be an inconvenience, especially for elderly customers. However, it is inconvenient for me to drive to Cheektowaga to find the nearest Arbys. They don't locate in my neighborhood because it would not be profitable for them. They're not a non profit or a charity. They make money selling low grade dog food to fat slobs like me.


Banks are businesses, too. If they were making money at the Fillmore/Glenwood location, they would not be closing it. They're probably "banking" that most of the Fillmore/Glenwood customers will stay with another HSBC bank. Like almost any other business these days, they are downsizing. Judson Price, 78, is quoted in the article as saying the neighborhood population has become sparse these days. He is a customer of the bank, but points to all the abandoned homes on nearby streets. I remember Price was shot by a neighborhood teenager years ago after he stood up to gang members. He also led the fight to bring a supermarket to the East Side (Tops). To me, he has credibility. The good news is that the University of Buffalo and HSBC appear to be trying to do something behind the scenes to utilize the location.
Neighborhood with meager bank services now has none : City & Region : The Buffalo News


Thursday, November 19, 2009

New Addition To Botanical Gardens




This was an interesting article in today's paper. It looks like they are going to build an administration building at the Erie County Botanical Gardens. I just hope whatever they do maintains the feel of the park. The Botanical Gardens is one of the true hidden treasures in our area. It's ironic that the Olmstead Conservency built a 46 car parking lot on the property. This is the same group that opposed us letting the cars park at the Potters Rd. soccer field. At the time, they wanted parents and grandparents to walk from St. John's Church all the way to the fields. This was impractical and didn't fly.

This group does a great job with the parks, though. I just hope the new addition doesn't end up having a WalMart feel to it. One person commenting on the following article already doesn't like the look, but I think it's hard to tell from just an artist's rendition. Regardless, the Botanical Gardens will always be a great place to visit.

Botanical Gardens’ office building, greenhouses get construction start*

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Davis Quits Council


Brian Davis resigned his seat on the Buffalo Common Council this afternoon. Davis admitted that he spent just under $2,000 of campaign contributions on personal items. He pleaded guilty to two misdemeanors. In recent days, the usually split council unanimously called for Davis' resignation.

I felt Davis should resign because he hasn't been showing up to meetings and lied about his college experience. Davis claimed to have graduated from a Trinity College but no Trinity College has any record of a Brian Davis graduating from their schools. This whole $2,000 thing seems kind of minor to me however. There have been other local examples of politicians betraying the public trust where nothing was done. Assembly dinosaur Sam Hoyt recently admitted having affairs with his young interns in a series of embarrassing emails. He also admitted spending campaign funds to pay for a babysitter and nothing was done about either of these things. Probably because he's the spoiled/entitled son of the late Bill Hoyt.

A few years ago State Senator Bill Stachowski admitted that he used his campaign funds to pay for Buffalo Bill's season tickets. He must have gotten away with it by being the privileged son of Stan Stachowski. I don't see how this is any different than Davis spending money on himself. Former County Legislator Mike Fitzpatrick pleaded guilty to more than one DWI yet his seat was never in jeopardy.

How about these people that retire with huge warchests like Joel Giambra, Tony Masiello, Tom Reynolds, and Jack Quinn? You don't think they are spending this money on themselves through bribes, err I mean campaign donations to other people? Give me a break. Yes. Davis is a crook. However, he appears to have plenty of company. He was just lousy at covering his tracks.

Davis resigns Common Council seat*

Update: The Guastaferros are Now Guastafelons



"I feel sorry for people who are not gorgeous people." Alicia Guastaferro

The Guastaferro's from Amherst make me sick. If you didn't see the clip from them from the show Wife Swap, I've included it here. What makes people sick is not the fact that they have money. Many people have money. It's that they think they are better than everybody else and went out of their way to pass it on to their daughter. The response this clip got from people was greater than anything else ever posted here. Some think the way they raise their daughter is a form of child abuse.


I guess what comes around, goes around. It looks like the federal government had been investigating the Guastaferros even before the show aired. It turns out the father was involved in a Canadian money laundering scheme involving 1.2 million dollars and the mother wasn't paying taxes on most of her employees. Perhaps someone else will have to do their precious little daughter's homework if they end up in jail. According to this story, they are so broke, they cannot afford to pay their own attorneys. This might be the only time you ever will see me taking the side of the government. I doubt it will happen but I'd really like to see these lowlifes get some jail time. If there's any justice, Amherst's loss will end up being be a local trailor park's gain.
‘Wife Swap’ couple admit money laundering : City & Region : The Buffalo News

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Pat Thomas (1895-2009)


Pat Thomas, the oldest person ever born in the US died yesterday in a Williamsville nursing home. She was 114, just two years older than Buffalo Bills owner Ralph Wilson. These are a few interesting things I gathered from a Buffalo News article regarding her life:

-Mrs Thomas lived through three centuries. She was the last person in WNY to witness the Bills win a league championship of any kind.

- The staff at the nursing home said Mrs. Thomas had been more energetic the last couple of weeks. "Very animated, very vocal, very alive", according to one staff member. I found this to be the most interesting part of the story.

-Her husband died in 1982. The two had met in Kindergarten.

-Mrs. Thomas claimed the secret to her longevity was always washing her hands and face as soon as she arrived home from anywhere.

-Mrs. Thomas was there on August 6th, 1899 when Bass Pro announced they would be opening up a new store in Buffalo soon.

-She said in a recent interview that she never missed an episode of her favorite TV show, Sanford & Son. Ok. I made that part up.

-Mrs. Thomas was an avid gardner, however, she never held a job or worked outside of the home. Upon hearing this, US Congressman Brian Higgins said, "Wow. In my incredibly privileged life, I've never had to apply or work at a job either. Maybe I'll live to be 114, too."

Rest in peace Pat Thomas. I have to go wash my hands now.
Oldest person born in U.S. dies in Williamsville at 114*

Bills Fire Coach Jauron- Possible Replacements Rumored


Exercise enthusiast/flaming homosexual Richard Simmons


Morris Buttermaker, the drunken coach of the Bad News Bears

Sensei John "sweep the knee" Kreese from The Karate Kid

Former US Womens Gymnastics coach Bela Karolyi, the most annoying personality in US olympic history.

Coach Klein from The Waterboy, possibly the worst Adam Sandler movie ever made (and that's saying a lot, because he sucks).

The Buffalo Bills announced the firing of head coach Dick Jauron today. They are not naming a replacement but my sources tell me they've narrowed it down to a field of five potential candidates. Coach Buttermaker is the obvious frontrunner but the team has to interview Richard Simmons in order to meet the NFL's rule that at least one "minority" be considered for the position. Former Bills coach Hank Bullough is not in the running as had been previously reported.

Monday, November 16, 2009

Random Thoughts From the Ghetto-Volume 13



I look out my window and see the empty 40 oz beer bottles, hypodermic needles, crack pipes and abandoned shopping carts on my front lawn and I begin to think. The end results have become known as my random thoughts from the ghetto...


These random thoughts are so advanced, they're simple.

-It was nice to see Extreme Make Over: Home Edition fix up someone's house in Buffalo. In fact, it was so successful, CBS is planning a new soap opera to be based here in the city. It's going to be called The Young and the Jobless.

-You can always tell when a guy is rich if you see him wearing a scarf indoors when it is above 32 degrees outside. He's either rich or he wants you to think he's rich.

-You can really tell a great deal about someone by the way they shake your hand. I try not to shake hands too much because it's an obvious way to transmit germs. As a failed politician, I used to shake many hands. The two worst types of handshakers are the ones that won't let go (they just keep shaking well past an acceptable time) and the ones that squeeze your hand so tight you have to stop at the ER on the way home. If someone does one of these two things, something's usually not clicking right upstairs.

-One of the great mysteries of television is what ever happened to Ritchie's older brother Chuck on Happy Days? In the first season, he was seen on a few episodes (always dribbling a basketball). Then, he was never heard from or spoken about again. In fact, Mr. Cunningham would talk to Ritchie and start the conversation by saying, "Now Ritchie. You're my oldest son and I love you very much." No he's not! Chuck is your oldest son Mr. C. Maybe Chuck went off to Vietnam and was killed like Eddie Haskell and Jeremy Mathers (from Leave it to Beaver). These were both popular urban legends during the 1970s. Eddie (or the guy who played him) did not die in Vietnam and was never a porn actor (another popular legend). He was actually an Arizona State Trooper for several years.

-Can you imagine being pulled over by Eddie Haskell? How was that guy ever able to do his job with a straight face? He played one of the greatest characters ever on television. "That's a lovely car you're driving today and a nice outfit you're wearing. How are Wallace and Theodore? Can I see your license and registration please?"

-One thing I can't stand is if I go out to eat with some guy friends and they send over a male waiter. You got three girls working and one guy. Here comes a table of four guys. Let's send the one male over there. They won't mind. We don't care if it's a male bartender but we don't want no guy waiting on us.

-I meet the definition of being left handed because I write with my left hand. However, I throw with my right. I bat (baseball) right handed. I hold a hockey stick left handed. I don't golf. But if I did, I would have to drive right handed and putt left handed. I've never met anyone else that does this. When I eat, I alternate and hold the fork with both my right and left hands equally well (or some would say equally poorly). The last two things are just bizarre. Needless to say, I am fascinated by the part of the brain that controls this.

-You want to know why they don't let fans on the field after sporting events anymore? Check out this clip of Chris Chambliss trying to round the bases in Yankee Stadium after hitting a home run to win the American League pennant in the bottom of the 9th inning in 1976:


-Thank you to all my faithfull readers. I promised I'd give a shout out to my good friend Michelle Zangerle, a faithfull reader of my crazy rants and one of my only readers from Tonawanda. Here is a song I used to like. It's an oldie. Well, it's an oldie where I come from. Sorry about some of the crazy lyrics. Go forth and sin no more.