Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Movie review: Movie 43



The Ninja dragged me out to check out a movie I had never heard of before. Now I know why. Movie 43 was the worst film I've seen in over a decade. Directed by Peter Farrely, the movie is a series of short clips, each one more annoying than the last. 

The movie was extremely gross, but not in the funny way There's Something About Mary was. Think of the worst Saturday Night Live skits imaginable and then add disgusting sophomoric lines to them. Some of the actors were so horrible, I saw a guy two rows behind me puking in one of the theater garbage cans. Nothing against the Ninja. I was glad to get out of the house and he thought the movie was a serious movie about modern times. But it was supposed to be a comedy, and you could count the number of times the other 5 people in the audience laughed on one hand. A strange attempt at humor. I give it a 1/2 of a star (out of 5 stars).

The birth of the Blog


 "Beneath the rule of men entirely great, the pen is mightier than the sword."
-Edward George Bulwer Lytton


I can tell by the recent analytic numbers, the blog has many new readers this winter. I'm sure many of them are saying, what the heck is this? From time to time, I like to point out why I started a blog. Like anything else, it's a work in progress and always evolving. 

In 2003, with a four year  Psychology degree from UB, I knew that I needed to go back to school in order to find decent work in this area. After working with children for about 14 years at the time, I decided to go back and study Physical Education. The only school offering P.E. locally was Canisius College. I enrolled in their program where one could pursue an undergraduate and graduate degree simultaneously. Working full time in the Human Services field, I went back to school part time (mostly at night). Finally in 2009, I completed my masters work and my student teaching and obtained both degrees and my initial certification. 

By this time, I had been running youth soccer programs for 19 years straight (all within the city of Buffalo). I submitted my resume to the Buffalo Public Schools and watched as the spawn of one political hack after another obtained jobs in physical education. Many weren't even city residents, but that didn't matter. The rules can be overlooked when one's father, uncle, etc makes large donations to the politicians. Never once, despite 19 years of coaching, was I even given the courtesy of an interview. I was now $76,000 in debt from student loans and faced with having to leave the area in order to find a job. I was not about to leave the area in which I had invested almost two decades of my time promoting youth soccer. At that point, I had a lot to say and I realized that I needed a forum. The leaders of this community were/are a complete joke. Their main objective is to steal as much money as they can for themselves and their family members. They do so through no-show jobs, kickbacks, bribes, etc. I was a Democratic Committeemen for over 10 years and I know exactly how low these people will go.

Being frustrated with my situation, I decided to start writing about it. I decided not only to write about the corrupt politicians, but about the one guy/woman on every street that does whatever they are told to by the corrupt politicians. In exchange, they and their children often are paid back through government employment. The blog was and continues to be well received by many. Although I do not have as much time as I did three years ago, people talk about it and the political people do not like it. And I really couldn't give a rat's ass what they think anyway.

So, before I had a forum to discuss things, the entitled political people would just say, "He's dumb. We don't take what he says seriously." Or something to that effect. But now, many people read the blog and can decide for themselves whether I'm dumb or not. Now, the political people, who know their every move is being scrutinized, say, "He's crazy." And of course, that's what they always say whenever someone outside of the clique gets even a small following.

I'll be the first to admit, I am often times socially awkward. I'm not comfortable in big crowds and definitely have my quirks (like everyone else). But no craziness here, just confidence in what I'm writing about. I read the papers every day and keep up with the things going on in the neighborhood. I'm a home owner and work full time in the private sector. I could really use people's help. If you come across one of my posts on Facebook or Twitter, and find it interesting, please share it with your followers. I think every community needs one person that all the politicians hate and I'm happy being that guy.

Monday, January 28, 2013

Friend of Mickey's?


 
I guess in some cases, you can  judge people by the friends they keep. A source tells me that New York State Assemblyman Mickey Kearns is involved in a boxing promotion with former boxer James Ralston. Ralston is the Buffalo man with 21 prior felony convictions. He was convicted of scamming hundreds of thousands of dollars out of elderly victims through unneeded home improvement repair scams.

His son, Les Ralston, was recently arrested, accused of stealing $18,000 from an 85 year old Amherst resident by charging her money for repairs she did not need. I guess the leaf does not fall far from the tree.

I'm not sure if any state money is involved in Kearns' latest venture and I don't want to jump to any conclusions. However, if so, this needs to be investigated and scrutinized very closely. I don't run any youth groups anymore. However, I wonder how the people at Cazenovia Hockey or South Buffalo Football would feel, if they knew a 21 time convicted felon were receiving public help from Kearns? These are law abiding parents, lucky enough to get a return phone call from a politician like Kearns. If any New York state funds are involved, I'd publicly have to question Kearns' motives.

I don't usually encourage people to watch news clips. However, I do encourage you to look at this channel 2 clip and ask yourself, Is this the type of person we want our elected officials doing business with?


*Update: I spoke to Assemblyman Kearns by phone. He assured me that no public money was given to Ralston. He said he was unaware of the extent of Ralston's past scams targeting the elderly, despite the fact they've been well documented on every news station in WNY over the last 20 years. (???)

Ray Lewis is no leader


 
I have to take issue with all the hype surrounding Ray Lewis. To me, Ray Lewis is a great football player who used his money to get out of a murder charge...

The white suit Lewis was wearing the night of the killings has never been found. Fulton County District Attorney Paul Howard alleged the blood-stained suit was dumped in a garbage bin outside a fast food restaurant.

On April 29, 2004, Lewis reached a settlement with four-year-old India Lollar, born months after the death of her father Richard, pre-empting a scheduled civil proceeding. Lewis also reached an undisclosed settlement with Baker's family.

Now, the media is making Lewis out to be this great leader because he does some sort of ridiculous pregame dance. He's no leader. Lewis has 6 children from 4 different women, yet has no problem playing himself off as this deeply religious man. He's obviously religious when it suits him and the TV cameras are on him. Guys like Walter Peyton and Reggie White were what I call leaders. Lewis is a piece of trash and I hope the 49ers whip them on Sunday. Don't buy into the national media's hype. Think of the little girl who is without a father and the family of the other man Lewis and his two friends killed over a barroom fight. Hardly a role model if you ask me.
http://s.pennlive.com/IatG19C

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Colin Kaepernick's biological mom seeks out NFL star


 Heidi Russo gave an emotional interview in which she explained her ongoing pain at giving up her biological son Colin Kaepernick for adoption 25-years ago
I found this story very sad. The biological mother of San Francisco 49ers Quarterback Colin Kaepernick has expressed a desire to meet him. She gave him up for adoption six weeks after giving birth to him in 1987...

Heidi has made numerous attempts to get back into contact with Colin over the past 18-years and each one has been rebuffed in a polite or lukewarm manner. 'I have to respect his wishes,' explained Russo.

During one of the brief exchanges they did have, Colin asked Heidi about his biological father.

Heidi explained to the Mercury News that she tried to contact him, but got no reply. 'I never got a response,' explained Russo. 'He has denied him for 25 years, so nothing has changed.'

With all the pressure that goes with preparing for the Super Bowl, it makes you wonder how Kaepernick can focus with things like this going on. This stuff is so much bigger than any game. 

Not sure if she contacted the media or vice versa. However, maybe she should try contacting him during the off-season, when he has more time. In any event, I don't think it's fair for people to assume she is after his new found wealth. I believe it is common for biological parents to reach out to their children later in life. Some people are saying she wouldn't care about him if he was flipping burgers somewhere, but I disagree. If this topic interests you, I recommend you read the entire article here...

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2267400/Colin-Kaepernicks-biological-mother-faces-cameras-says-hopes-meet-son-denies-new-fame-motivated-going-public.html#ixzz2JADdg2sQ


The return of the Rooster




A courier met me underneath the Tifft Street Bridge the other day with this message from the City Hall Rooster. The opinionated Rooster talks about a variety of subjects ranging from Lance Armstrong to his Super Bowl pick...

The Rooster is back from his sabbatical with the Tibetan Monks and has become very philosophical....

-Many people call what Lance Armstrong did cheating. The bird calls it improvising to win. Isn't it funny that the IOC froze his urine and waited for years to be able to test it? I crow BULLSHIT. And before the cock crows BULLSHIT three times, you will agree.They had the capabilities to test him but they didn't want to burst their own bubble. "Tour de Lance" was marketable. Those birds only concern was to promote biking.The phrase Tour de Lance was catchy and a money maker. The officials of the IOC cheated, they knew most cyclers were doping and so did NADA. So who was cheated? US. 

The Post Office claim to have been goosed. Baloney. Again it was us. Postal stamps continued to rise during Lance's bike runs,the Post Office lost money during his runs, but they gave Lance 30 million dollars worth of sponsorship. Again who got cheated? Those of us who buy the stamps. What company loses billions yearly but gives away 30 mil to sponsor bike racers? Don't worry,were saved. Our politicians are gonna hold congressional meetings to investigate Lance and ask a bunch of questions that Oprah already asked. 

There's a pattern here. Again, we are getting screwed.The politicos are meeting on our dimes.They are wasting our Bucks to get to the bottom of this, instead of meeting to create some jobs. The boys in Washington are honest though, they are accepting payoffs daily to vote a certain way. They call these payoffs lobbying. Hell, its downright Bullshit. That's the 3rd time I said Bullshit and I said by the 3rd one you would be seeing it my way. WELL. Who cares about Lance  doping? It seems to me that we're all doped up because we allow this CRAP to continue. Ive been cheated, how about you?

-On another note the Rooster said at the beginning of the year that the  NY JETS would suck. The future prediction is that Rex Ryan Will be coaching Detroit after next year and the Bills will pick a QB from Arkansas. Remember where you heard it.The Rooster also needs someone to help him bring home his cash from Vegas after the 49er's win the Bowl. The odds were 10  to  1 in August. Although Uncle McGiven cautioned the the Bird on that play, it was done anyway. San Fran  26  Baltimore 23


*(I agree with the Rooster. I like San Francisco as well. Quarterback is very good, defense is tough. Baltimore QB Flacco has been playing well, but has been inconsistent in the past.)

(Regarding Armstrong: I read where Armstrong was paying off the doping group to delay their findings. Also, didn't the US Post Office sponsor the America's Cup yacht race a few years back? First of all, they are not a company. It's our tax dollars. Secondly, if you're losing millions of dollars a year, how can you sponsor anything? I could never figure that out. Are people going to buy more stamps because some guy won a bike race?) 

Lackawanna residents: fight this nonsense


 
Lackawanna proves again it's one of the most corrupt cities in Western New York. Former mayor and career politician Norm Polanski has been appointed (by people he appointed) to the post of Housing Authority Commissioner.

Lackawanna citizens of all races and colors should be outraged at the actions of this board. As mayor, Polanski is best know for hiring his two sons to the city's Sanitation Department. A state prison employee, Polanski is clearly attempting to get two taxpayer funded pensions. What a lowlife. Go work at WalMart! My message to Lackawanna residents: fight this obvious act of patronage. You own your government, not the political hacks. Do not accept this. Show up and be heard.

Friday, January 25, 2013

Carl's Yes-Man: Mickey Kearns



 

I hope when Carl Paladino takes over the Buffalo Public School system, he surrounds himself with smarter people than he does in his business life. There are a lot of canaries down at the Ellicott Square Building and I laugh at what I'm hearing from them.

Interesting that Paladino would seek input from Mickey "King of all Studies" Kearns.

People are finally beginning to smarten up on Kearns. He sold himself as this great fund raiser before running for office. Just wondering when New York state taxpayers are going to see some of his "brilliance" put to use? Kearns likes to compare himself to Jimmy Griffin, however, he's the only one doing so these days. Griffin would be rolling over in his grave if he knew how much Kearns had already sold out his constituents. Kearns lies so much, he can't even keep track of the lies he's telling. Mickey's tiresome shtick will work in the short term but gets old very fast.

No craziness here. Just a guy who calls it as he sees it. Hopefully, when Paldino reforms the Buffalo Public Schools, he'll be smart enough to not surround himself with hangers-on. See that table over there, Carl? That's Kearns bringing nothing to it.




It's time to clean up Board of Education


 
Three years ago, after 23 years of service to the youth of South Buffalo, I found out where I stood with residency violator James Kane and the rest of the entitled members making up the Buffalo Board of Education's administrators. The sound you hear now could possibly be the sound of the chickens coming home to roost.

I saw today that Buffalo developer Carl Paladino is considering a run for the School Board and I was particularly intrigued with these comments he made to the Buffalo News...

Paladino says that if he does run for the board and win, his first step would be to fire the upper-level school district administrators in City Hall.

“When you have people whose performance is lacking, as evidenced by year after year of dysfunction, it means you have to try to get somebody else,” he said. “I’d get rid of that whole staff up there and get some real professional people to do a real professional job, rather than just protect their job all day long.”

I have nothing personal against James Kane. However, I said it then and I'll say it now. The lack of respect I was shown three years ago, because I happened to not be related to any political cronies, is going to come back to haunt him. I said it in the blog then, and I'm saying it now. I plan on corresponding with Paladino with one question. How serious is he about getting rid of these lackluster administrators? 

By now, Kane should be well aware that over 3,000 local residents read this blog each week (which I write in my spare time between  two private sector jobs). If Carl is serious about sending these suits to the unemployment line, he has at least one vote right here. It's time for a complete overhaul in City Hall.
Paladino considers run for School Board*

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Cuomo's latest money grab



I warned you when Andrew Cuomo took office to hold onto your wallets. Despite being one of the most economically depressed regions in the country, Cuomo is looking to grab more of your hard earned money. It's what his family does. It's the only thing they know.

Residents already pay a ridiculously high fee if they get caught speeding. It has nothing to do with public safety. It is simply a money grab. The punishment already grossly exceeds the crime. Its just another way for Cuomo to separate more hard working New Yorkers from their money.

People need to keep their eyes on little Andrew. When his father Mario, the original thief, ran for NY City Mayor in 1977 against fellow lowlife Ed Koch, Andrew was behind fliers that read "Vote for Cuomo. Not the Homo." Now this clown is our governor and keeping up the Cuomo family tradition of fleecing the taxpayers. I'm not defending speeders. However, those caught already pay sufficient fines. Total money grab.

http://www.wivb.com/dpp/news/new_york/speeding-tickets-could-soon-cost-more


Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Life Imitating Jurassic Park

Neanderthals have been extinct for 33,000 years, but George Church, a genetics professor at Harvard Medical School, believes he can bring them back with the help of a surrogate human mother.


What will they think of next? A Harvard Professor thinks he's close to cloning a Neanderthal. Neanderthals roamed the earth some 33 thousand years ago before becoming extinct. While we think of them as dumb, their brains were actually significantly larger than present day humans...

Ever since they cloned that sheep in Scotland, things have gotten out of hand. Can you imagine your daughter taking a Neanderthal to the prom? Should one be cloned, would Neanderthals have the same rights as humans? Would they be considered human themselves?

The professor believes humans will eventually run out of space on earth and need to relocate elsewhere (perhaps New Jersey?) He thinks the larger brains of these prehistoric men and women will come up with better solutions faster. Interesting.


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2265402/Adventurous-human-woman-wanted-birth-Neanderthal-man-Harvard-professor.html?ito=feeds-newsxmlM


*Update: the scientist in question now denies he is trying to create a Neanderthal and says the whole idea was lost in translation after he interviewed with a German journalist. Here is his denial in USA Today...

http://usat.ly/10qy6uu










Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Catholic School closings leave many parents scratching their heads



The recent closing of St. Ambrose and Trinity Catholic Schools is a big topic these days with parents I speak to throughout South Buffalo. So many people (including myself) attended and graduated from one of the many now extinct Catholic grammar schools. I think what bothers some people is the perceived dishonest manner in which the parents, teachers, and students were treated by the Buffalo Diocese. It seems like they made their decision behind closed doors and then pretended as if they were looking for input and involvement from the parishioners. 

Take the closing of the two schools last week. A teacher from one of the schools (who wishes to remain anonymous for fear of reprisal), forwarded me a recent article from the Western New York Catholic Diocese of Buffalo. The article was written just this past September. It talks about the uniqueness of the three remaining Catholic Schools and how they will soon be one school with three campuses. It boasts about a new leadership model, yet the leaders at St. Ambrose and Trinity Catholic weren't given any chance to increase registration under this new model. Here are various excepts from the article that will have leave many South Buffalo parents scratching their heads...

South Buffalo Catholic School takes pride in its unique structure. It is one school with three distinct campuses. A new administrative model being implemented this fall aims to further unify those campuses and strengthen Catholic education in the South Buffalo area.

Notre Dame, with about 360 students, is the strongest of the three sites in terms of education. Business First listed it as the number seven top grammar school in Buffalo. Ambrose Academy followed at number eight. Trinity is in a neighborhood with a low economic background, yet placed better than 31 of the Buffalo
public schools. “And we’re expecting Trinity to go even higher now that it’s under the new model,” said Father Judge. “By having the same guidelines, the same handbooks, everything else, it creates a better atmosphere for learning, which in turn turns into a better school of excellence for the kids.”  


The South Buffalo Catholic School Parents Association has offered plenty of ideas for fundraising for all three campuses as one entity

“There is no way that people can take a look at this and say it won’t flourish,” said Sister Joan Sherry, school board president.

I have to admit, this one got past yours truly. But, thanks to the soon to be out-of-work teacher, affected parents can go back and read the article in it's entirety. I'm not sure how many parents read it when it came out a few months ago.  

The News and the TV stations won't hold the Diocese accountable, but we will on this site. If they were truly serious, how could they pull the plug on this "new model" after only a few months? The parents of the students at all three of these buildings are terrific volunteers, coaches, and fundraisers. Trinity recently had some problems in this area, but I think a change in leadership was much needed over there, based on my conversations with parents.

 If you read the attached article in it's entirety, it is very clear: the Diocese had no intention of keeping the the three schools open long term. The plan all along appears to have been to merge to one building. It's sad that, with this new development, many students from the two closing schools will not realistically continue to receive a Catholic education. Teachers will be without jobs and parents will be forced to make some difficult choices as to where to send their children next year.

Please check out the full article here. Also, feel free to share this article with others affected by these changes.
http://www.wnycatholic.org/wnycatholicnews/tabid/1002/vw/1/itemid/1684/new-leadership-model-to-further-unify-south-buffalo-catholic-school--.aspx

Monday, January 21, 2013

Land of the Free?


http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/82/Utah_in_United_States.svg/270px-Utah_in_United_States.svg.png

Thought this was funny. You might expect something like this in China or North Korea, but not Utah...

A Utah business owner, not happy with increased costs associated with Obamacare, fired two employees, mainly because they were Obama supporters. And apparently, no law has been broken...


One of those businessmen was Terry Lee, owner of Terry Lee Forensics, who wanted  to offset Obamacare costs by firing two workers who happened to support President Obama.
Lee first explained himself In the comments section of The Tribune's story on Burnett.

'Love it. We had to let two employees go to cover new Obongocare [sic] costs and increased taxes,' Lee wrote. 'Found two Obongo supporters and gave them the news yesterday. They wanted the idiot in the White House, they reap the benefits.'

Bizarre. Perhaps a sympathetic Obama supporter will help find these two jobs, but should probably avoid calling their former boss  for a reference.




Waiting for the facts to come in


 
Not blaming the victim by any means, but I hope all the facts are examined carefully in regards to the Mineral Springs roller hockey owner. I've read many comments online to the affect that due process goes out the window in crimes like this, and I have to disagree.

I don't know Randy Kosinski or his accuser. However, I've been around youth sports for a long time and have seen similar situations and heard similar allegations. In one case, the allegations were true and the person was convicted and sent to jail. In others, once examined, there were no substance to the charges. To me, there's a big difference between sending racy texts and committing rape. Many people say Kosinski liked to tell off color jokes, but scoff at the notion of him chasing underage boys. People who played there for years are shocked at the allegations. Others say they are not surprised and describe Kosinski as being "creepy." The last time I checked, looking creepy was not a crime. It may be proven otherwise, but until then, I think it's important to hear Kosinski's side of the story as well as the victim's. 

I'm not saying he's innocent. I can't see the Cheektowaga Police arresting him unless they thought they had a case. And there very well might be others coming forward. However, he is innocent until proven guilty. Sometimes an open and shut case is anything but. I remember all the pre-school cases from the 1980's, specifically the McMartin Preschool Case. One man spent five years in prison and everyone a the daycare center had their careers ruined. Years later, it was proven that none of what was alleged actually took place. 
 http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/mcmartin/mcmartinaccount.html

It will be interesting to see what comes out of this case.

Erie County voters are not this stupid

When I read Bob McCarthy's political column today, I couldn't believe my eyes...

Have you heard the one about State Sen. Tim Kennedy running for county comptroller this year? Not true.

But a tad of logic made this rumor almost logical. Kennedy barely survived a primary challenge from County Legislature Chairwoman Betty Jean Grant last fall, spending about $400,000 to win by a handful of votes. Grant almost knocked him off with $20,000.

Most people in WNY are onto Kennedy's pathetic act. They've been informed by myself and others about his limited intelligence and selfish nature. He'll never get elected to anything again once he is removed from Albany in the next election. He's damaged goods. Everyone knows this. He's made so many enemies throughout the district. The News writes it off to "demographics." What they really mean is there are many more black people in his district than in years past. However, what McCarthy and others might not know is that Kennedy is despised by many white South Buffalo voters, also. The only supporters he has left are a select group of very dumb people from the neighborhood clique. The people who owe their jobs to Brian Higgins. The people who do whatever they are told to by Brian Higgins. The people with limited intelligence/self respect. There's one on every street.

I'm hoping local developer Carl Paladino uses his financial muscle to help send Kennedy packing in 2014. Paladino recently called Kennedy and Mark Grisanti "cowards" for their gun control vote last week. More upsetting than the actual vote, many residents were unhappy with the way it was pushed through hastily without any debate or public input.

Kennedy will do whatever he is told by Brian Higgins and Andrew Cuomo. He doesn't stand for anything. His constituents are well aware of this and will be much more organized in getting rid of him this time. Prediction: Kennedy will be given a much deserved demotion-cleaning the floors at the local Walmart.

Saturday, January 19, 2013

NY Punk scene-1977

Just saw a pretty cool documentary on the year 1977 inNew York City. People looking for importance,not to mention drugs, went to Studio 54. Disco was the rage there.

On the other side of town, a group of anti-establishment misfits calling themselves punk rockers were changing the way we looked at music. The Ramones, the Talking Heads, and Blondie were creating this crazy sound never before heard. I've heard Blondie a million times but never really paid attention to her lyrics. She was a true artist. If this song came out today, I wonder if it would be called Text Me?...

Friday, January 18, 2013

Street hockey owner arrested


 
Was very surprised to hear of the arrest of the owner of the Roller Hockey rink on Mineral Springs today...

CHEEKTOWAGA, N.Y. (WIVB) - A trusted coach and owner of an ice rink in West Seneca has been arrested on charges he sent text message to a 16-year-old boy, asking for sexual favors.
Randall Kosinski, 49, was arrested and arraigned Friday. Cheektowaga Police say they have been investigating Kosinski since December.

I've known so many people (children and adults) who have played there. Yet, I've never heard any allegations about the owner. Normally, you would think behavior like this would prompt rumors, but I guess you never know. I've always had a great deal of respect for the business he put together over there. It will be interesting to see if more allegations surface. 
http://www.wivb.com/dpp/news/crime/man-sends-teen-inappropriate-messages#.UPndHySBiNE.email

The end of an era

I hear things got pretty contentious last night as the Diocese of Buffalo held a meeting to announce the closing of St. Teresa's and St. Ambrose schools. South Buffalo, once a hotbed of Catholic guilt, will now be down to one Catholic school. Suburban flight as well as the emergence of free, successful public and charter schools have led to a steady decrease in students.

My school (St. Agatha's) closed years ago. The main thing I miss were the snowball fights. Who needed gym class? We walked to and from school twice each day. And once we were there, we were told how we were all sinners and threatened with hell. We went to endless church services where we stood, knelt, and sat while taking part in various cult-like activities.

The nuns at that time were maniacal. Their favorite method to achieve discipline was to scare it out of the students. And just like the local mob boss, they had to back up their threats with violence.

It will be interesting to see how this plays out. In other words, will St. Martins achieve a great influx of students? Or will these families opt in to the Discovery School, OLV, or the South Buffalo Charter School?


Thursday, January 17, 2013

Outing gun owners?

The Buffalo News has requested a list of all the gun owners in Erie County. County Clerk Chris Jacobs has denied this request, and I agree with him. I'm not a gun owner, but see this as an invasion of privacy. As long as owning guns is legal, it isn't anyone's business who owns one or who doesn't.

In it's defense, the News says it has no plans on publishing the names of the gun owners. How nice of them. To me, this is more a matter of privacy than it is safety. I'm sick of going to Walgreens and having to tell them my zip code before buying a bottle of shampoo. Leave me alone, damn it! Since when does purchasing something become a matter of public record? If people want to debate the use of assault military style weapons or 10 day waiting periods, I'm all for that debate. It's America. That's what we do. However, posting the names and addresses of private citizens against their will sounds like something out of the Cold War era.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Don't cry over spilled milk



I would hate to have been the poor guy behind the wheel of this giant milk truck, which tipped over yesterday in Cheektowaga.

Cuomo's new gun laws


Governor Cuomo's gun control legislation comes as a surprise to me. With his Presidential aspirations, I would have expected him to start leaning towards the right on the political spectrum. This Bill is sure to generate controversy, especially in the gun-loving South.

Assemblyman Mickey Paladino voted against it, which is no surprise. He is bought and paid for by the ultra Conservative Carl Paladino.

Senator Tim "Hortons" Kennedy voted in favor of it, which is also no surprise. He does whatever he is told to by liberals Brian Higgins and Governor Cuomo. It will be interesting to see how this plays out. I have a feeling the gun rights advocates will have their sights (no pun intended) set on the round mound of legislation when he's up for reelection in a few years.

Trust me when I tell you neither Kearns nor Kennedy vote their conscience on anything. They simply go along with the people pulling their strings.

Monday, January 14, 2013

Big Mouth no longer a pirate



 

You know it's 2013 when a Somali pirate calls an international press conference to announce he is retiring from the business...

At a press conference—possibly the first to be held by a retiring pirate—Mohamed Abdi Hassan, known as "Afweyne" or "big mouth," told reporters on Wednesday that after eight successful years in the business, he’s through.

The king-pin pirate was described by the United Nations as "one of the most notorious and influential leaders." The New York Times described his arrival on the scene as bringing a “new sophistication” to the business, noting, “Afweyne raised venture capital for his pirate operations as if he were launching a Wall Street I.P.O.”

When asked to describe his greatest career achievement Afweyne  scowled "Arrr! When me drank some grog and got me the scurvy!"

Big Mouth said he was looking forward to spending more time with his family and following his favorite sports teams, you guessed it-the Pittsburgh Pirates and Tampa Bay Buccaneers...
http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/sideshow/feared-somali-pirate-retiring-pirate-business-181529222.html

Must not see television

The next time someone tells you how bad television is these days, just show them this clip from 1978. It's the infamous Battle of the Network Stars track relay where Valerie Bertinelli fumbles the baton hand off from the Incredible Hulk. Also, don't miss David Letterman and Welcome Back Kotter's (Gabe Kaplin) attempt at athleticism...

Sunday, January 13, 2013

 
Buddy the Book is back from Miami with this week's picks and a variety of opinions...Hh
Just  returned back to Loserville, NY.   Still reeling about that National Championship play.  I definitely realized while analyzing this game that ND lost the  battle in the trenches. He also stated the defensive coordinator failed to prepare ND for the possibility of being buried by plow drivers (I.E. offensive line).  The offensive game plan for ND consisted of throwing an ally-op pass.  What the hell was that?  I can watch that during pop warner.  I am fed up!  I knew I should have went with my good buddy Saban (Belichik disciple).  I told the Blogger's readership that the key to this game was the offensive line vs ND defense.  ND played like the Sisters of  the Poor freshman team.  Saban is always good ATS especially during prime time TV.  NEVER NEVER AGAIN GO AGAINST GOOD BUDDY SABAN!  I hope my readers went opposite and buried their local handicapper.

Its one of those opinionated days... BUT Russ Brandon CEO!  Come on Ralph Malph! You cheap son of a pup can you get rid of the hanger on bum crowd?  Buddy Nix live at the improv is still at one Bills Drive.  Buddy- I fired you 3 years ago when you tried to sell me on disabled quarterback Fitzy. Did anyone notice the sales job that the snooze tried to give you about Fitzy during the off season?  First it was the injuries. Second he needed a Biomechanics expert for his throwing motion (Pathetic). Third he went to Harvard and was the smartest guy ever!  But you cannot throw  the FB vertivally and should be on a bus ride home.

Plays last week 3-2. Thanks to ND- The premimium members received last minute change to GB based on injury to Ponder.  This was a blue ribbion special for my premium members.  This week  Buddies plays are brought to you buy all the car commercials during the national championship blow out.  I like Denver (-9) over Ray Lewis and the senior aged Ravens.  Atlanta (-2.5) over Seattle (tough play),  New England (-9.5) Belichik  with 2 weeks to prepare??? over Houston and SF (-3) to bury GB.  Are you tired of your bookies girlfriend wearing mink coats????  Well- then call me NOW!  1-800- Bud-wins!


Has anyone seen the Ninj driving around and around and around the perimeter???

1776 will commence again...


 

Have you seen some of the pro gun people they've been putting on some of these talk shows lately? It seems as though the Left portion of our media is purposely bypassing the responsible gun owners in favor of the lunatic fringe. It is actually a brilliant tactic on their part. Alex Jones, the radio talk show host calling for the deportation of Piers Morgan, is the poster child for the wackjobs. He seems more intent on promoting his book than on discussing the issue of gun control.

I'm in favor of gun control, but even I am not naive enough to think guys like Jones represent the true gun owners of America. At least, I hope not. Where did they find this cartoon character, anyway? Have you caught his act yet? In case you missed it, here he is on Morgan's show making a complete fool out of himself...

Saturday, January 12, 2013