Wednesday, September 30, 2009

We're Going Fishing

It was Aristotle who said, 'There was never a genius without a tincture of madness.' Now, there's even scientific proof. According to a study by the Daily Telegraph out of the UK, people with the gene neuregulin 1 were more likely to score higher on creativity assessments and to have greater creative lifetime achievements than those without it. This gene is associated with psychosis and depression. The trick is to have enough of the gene to be creative but not too much to where you're absolutely bonkers.

This made me think of the movie One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest (sorry about the old movie references). The last movie I saw at the box office was Slapshot. This movie had Jack Nicholson, Danny Devito, Christopher Lloyd, and Mr Vargus from Fast Times At Ridgemont High. In this scene, Nicholson helps all of his mentally ill cohorts escape the psyche ward to go on a fishing trip (on someone else's boat). Watch the look on group outcast Harding's face at 0:44 as Nicholson introduces all of them as doctors, except him. I got a feeling there was lots of neuregulin 1 on this boat. "The famous Dr. Scanlon".
http://www.newser.com/story/70611/genius-madness-linked-to-gene.html#atabc




Timon Race This Saturday



If you're looking for something to do this Saturday, Oct. 3rd, the Bishop Timon Fall Challenge will take place on McKinley Pkwy. at 11AM. If you're not a runner, you can walk the flat 5K course with friends or family or complete strangers. This race doesn't cost $500,000 to get in, and the food afterwards (pizza,cheese cake, filet mignon) is always very good. Ok, it's more like filet of fish but you know what I mean. Michelle Batton, Marty Farrell, and Eric Bohen work very hard to make this race a success and it is a good cause. So be there or be square!

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Earthquake Hits Pacific Islands

I don't have anything to add to this story. I hope there are more survivors. I saw the headline and just considered it a great opportunity to post this picture.

Residents flee tsunami after quake hits Samoas - Yahoo! Newshttp://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090929/ap_on_re_au_an/as_pacific_earthquake

You didn't want to mess with these guys during the 1980's:

The Wild Samoans

Paterson Not Seeking Reelection-You Heard it Here First




The attached article says the embattled David Paterson is still going to run for governor in 2010. He claims that President Obama hasn't "asked him not to run". Spoken like a true leader. Isn't that what all leaders do? They wait until someone asks them to do something. It says here that Paterson is not going to seek reelection. He knows he can't win with his ridiculously low approval ratings. I believe he is using the press to posture for something from Obama. Quite frankly, I think he's trying to make a deal. He knows he has Obama in a tight spot. By publicly calling for his resignation, Obama risks upsetting some in black leadership positions. In a few months, expect Paterson to say he's not seeking reelection so he 'can devote more time to his family'. There's a fancy political term for all of this. It's that Paterson has Obama by the balls. Goodbye, Dave. We hardly knew ya. We won't miss ya.
That will open the door for Sonofmario Cuomo. He has several great qualifications to lead the state. Actually just one, he's the son of someone important. He's currently the state's attorney general. Elliot Spitzer was the attorney general before he became governor and we all know how great that turned out. I just hope it's not Sonofmario vs Wacky Pataki in November 2010. Maybe we'll have better luck and New York state will just sink into the Atlantic Ocean.
Reuters.com - New York Governor Paterson says he's still running http://www.reuters.com/article/email/idUSTRE58J0CW20090920

Monday, September 28, 2009

Random Thoughts From the Ghetto-Volume 7



I look out my window and see the empty 40 oz beer bottles, hypodermic needles, crack pipes and abandoned shopping carts on my front lawn and I begin to think. The end results have become known as my random thoughts from the ghetto...

It's late September and I am really glad I'm not back at school...

-There will be a benefit for Mike Kindred this Friday, October 2nd from 5:30-11:ooPM at the Knights of Columbus (261 S. Legion Dr.). Mike was diagnosed with MS and the illness has been particularly tough on his family. Mike is married to the former Jenny Lyons (St. Agatha's Alumnus) and they have five children. There will be 50/50, beer, pop, activities for kids. It's a great cause and I hope you can attend and help spread the word to others.


-It's always funny when someone has too much to drink at a Bills game and runs out onto the field. The security guards all get caught up in the action and they all want to 'make the tackle'. The crowd wants to see the Fred Jackson wannabee make it all the way to the end zone. I guess we're easily amused but with the NFL these days, it has to be more exciting than the game. It's become so common, it's often the first or second question people ask when they hear you were at the game. "How was the game? Did anyone run out on the field?"

-When did pro sports stop becoming fun? They used to be a way for us to escape from our miserable lives, if only for brief periods of time. I caught some of the Bills post game press conference yesterday. They were dissecting each play as if the result hinged on a possible cure for cancer. What about this play? Did you see the zone three coverage or were you fooled? Do you think we should have tried more blitzes or was a man to man defense the way to go? Do they know that these guys got to where they are because of their athleticism and not their brains? Don't they realize that half of these guys can't read? Just sit back and enjoy the game and accept it for what it is. A game.

-Ok. Cell phones have been around long enough. The grace period is over. If you're at a restaurant, turn your ringer to vibrate. How many times have you heard,'the Saints come marching in' while your trying to enjoy your meal? Also, do people realize how loud they are on those things? The whole restaurant doesn't need to know that your hemorrhoids are starting to flare up again. Really, turn your phones off for twenty minutes.

-It's really time to do away with the composite sketches in criminal cases. It is never accurate and has never led to the capture of anyone. Remember the sketch of the unibomber? Didn't look anything like professor Teddy Kascinski after they caught him. All they do is confuse people. I remember all the sketches of the bike path killer had a full head of hair. The victims reported him having thinning hair twenty five years ago. The police were shocked that Altemio Sanchez was found to be bald. Guess what. If someone had thinning hair twenty five years ago, is anyone really surprised that they're bald today? This makes me feel safe on the streets. When's the next police exam?

-I always like when the FBI comes up with a personality profile of a suspect. Whenever someone does something strange, they always say, 'we believe the suspect is probably a white male, a loner, has difficulty holding down jobs, could be a drifter, etc.' That's what they said about the DC sniper case a few years back. Then they caught the guy, and he was a black dude traveling around with some black kid that looked like Emmanuel Lewis from the TV show Webster. I guess he was the exception to the rule. Whenever someone commits an antisocial act, why do they always assume it's a wacked out white guy? Not that I have a chip on my shoulder or anything.

-I was walking in the hallway at school on Friday. I saw a 5th grade student walking the other way. He started taking a "boxing" stance towards me so I did the same thing. He said,'Mr. Blake. I'm going home early today.' I said, 'Cool. I wish I was. How come?' 'I got head lice!' was his response.

-This column might be cancelled next week as I feel like I might be running out of talent.

-One of my friends coaches the Math team at Burgard HS. I told him he probably has his work cut out for him since they're listed as one of the poorest performing schools in the state. He said,'No. The two Sri Lankens came out for the team this year.' Had I only known that, I would've
made them contenders for the title.

-I love these people that write to the Metro community news or like being on local news in an effort to promote themselves as community leaders. They think they are movie stars. I know of one local activist and two local priests that must have all three area news stations on their phone's speed dial. At some point, someone lied to them and told them they were important. It reminds me of a scene from the Wizard of Oz. In the beginning of the movie before the storm, one of the farm hands was balancing on a ledge. He posed and sarcastically said,'someday, they are going to erect a statue of me in this town!' Then, Dorothy's aunt replied, 'Well, don't start posing for it now.' Truer words were never spoken. Go forth and sin no more...

Sunday, September 27, 2009

Liars


If you ever doubted the Erie County D.A.'s office was political, read today's headline article in the Buffalo News. This story reminds me of an old adage. You can always tell when a politician is lying; their lips are moving.

Mark Sacha alleges that Steve Pigeon laundered a $10,000 contribution from former County Executive Joel Giambra to the campaign of former West Seneca Town Supervisor Paul Clark. Clark's campaign didn't want the public to know they were taking a donation from Giambra because Giambra was widely considered to be a leper by the general public.

I really don't have much more to say about this article but I just wanted to comment on some of the people mentioned in it:

Steve Pigeon- the consummate weasel. This guy is crazy. On Christmas Eve, when everyone else is with their families opening presents, Pigeon is sitting in a dark room by himself trying to figure out what he can do next to improve his standing in Erie County politics. LOSER. This guy was shoved into more than a few lockers in his day.

Paul Clark- He's the guy that had the commercial with all the little animated Keanes running around doing their government jobs. He reportedly likes to accept large amounts of money in paper bags at undisclosed locations. Equally despised by both West Seneca and Erie County voters.

James Keane- Came up from Florida in 2007 and pretended to care about Erie County in a desperate attempt to become County Executive. After calling each other names in the Democratic Primary for months, Keane and Paul Clark united in a much celebrated hugfest in which Clark endorsed Keane. Despite a 100,000 Democrat to Republican enrollment advantage, Keane managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory and lost the general election. In subsequent interviews, Keane said he fell victim to the peoples disgust in career politicians. Not true. The people that knew him had simply grown tired of his walking vaudeville act. The voters said go back to Florida and this time, please stay there.

Joel Giambra-Mr. Red budget/Green budget himself. What more can I say about this knucklehead? If he shakes your hand, you better count how many fingers you have left.

Joseph Illuzi-Website promoter/ convicted bank robber. Paul Clark gave him $10,000 to perform a hatchet job on Keane. Illuzi runs a website where politicians pay him considerable amounts of money for "favorable coverage". He's a class act and a personal inspiration to me.

Frank Clark- One of the biggest phonies/grandstanders ever to hold office in this area. This clown loved to get on TV with his fake Brooklyn accent and do whatever he could to protect the status quo. Clark let a developmentally challenged man (Anthony Cappozzi) sit in a state prison, despite overwhelming DNA evidence clearing Cappozzi of the rape charges against him. Clark used concerns about his health to step down when he realized he was about to be exposed as a complete fraud. What happened Frankie? The old cop out, "I just want to spend more time with my family" was already taken?

These are just some of the people running your community. You couldn't make this stuff up. It makes you wonder why more young people aren't moving to the Carolinas...
Assistant DA says Clark and Sedita gave political kingpin Pigeon a pass*

Saturday, September 26, 2009

crime stats 9/14-9/20





Monday September 14th

155 Bailey--shoplifting--2 arrests---Adam Camacho...Houston st....Shannon Carr...O'Connell st
Cazenovia Park--Domestic Assault---warrant card issued.
88 Fields --Gang assault...1 suspect liste...1w/m,3 b/m's assaulted victm.
279 Perry---larceny--stolen ring
Mackinaw/Kentucky--larceny---car stereo stolen
16 Latona Ct---larceny--cash stolen from purse--suspects listed.
64 Kenefick--larceny--bike stolen --possible suspect listed.
! Fulton--larceny--wallet stolen.
326 Mystic--assault---1 arrest---Jeremiah Crum
101 Milford--harassment---warrant card issued.
125 Cable--crim mis--window broken.
2198 S Park--1 arrest--Michael Morgan...NPA....defendant gave officers fake name.
1925 S Park--tresspassing--Unk older B/M was in yard going thru coolers.
Cazenovia Park--sex offense--victim was subject to unwanted touching---suspect listed---referred to Sex Offense Squad.

Tuesday Sept 15th

11 Downing--assault--1 arrest--Joseph Bialaszewski.
11 Zittel--larceny from car--wallet/cash stolen.
344 Perry--UUV
2426 S Park--UUV155 Bailey--V&T--1 arrest---Ashley Weston..E Windcott ct Cheek...poss of marijuana
116 Smith--harassment--suspect listed.
77 Sage -assault--suspect listed.
435 Perry apt#4--assault--suspect listed.
2098 Seneca--harassment--1 arrest--Darryl Barnes..Hopkins st
18 Olcott--stalking--suspect listed.
Tifft/Fuhrman--1 arrest--drugs--Todd Szakall..Abbott rd..Lackawanna
319 Alabama--RUUV

Wednesday Sept 16th

2024 Clinton #2---assault--1 arrest---Ronald Toy...Altruria st
2024 Clinton--Domestic/Larceny--1 arrest--Ronald Toy
55 Euclid--assault--1 arrest--Peter Walker Jr.
319 Holly--forgery--suspect took title to vehicle and forged victims name.
565 Abbott--larceny--Tops Gift card stolen from glove box--used at Tops seneca st.
279 Perry 6a--larceny--jewelry stolen--possible suspect listed.
160 Gilbert--Burglary--stolen playstation 3,6 games--warrant card issued for suspect.
199 Orlando--threats--suspect listed.
20 Lakewood--crim mis--window on house broken.
209 weiss---harassment--suspect listed.
95 Hayden--crim mis--suspect listed.
80 James E Casey--phone threats
113 Aldrich--threats--suspect listed.
Chicago/Carroll--RUUV
101 Milford--threats--suspect listed.
106 Stevenson--threats165 Lockwood--phone threats--suspect listed.
1316 S Park--1 arrest--drugs--Dewayne Gray..Michigan Ave
95 Pulaski--threats with shovel--suspect listed.

Thursday Sept 17th

McKinley/Almont--Robbery---4 arrests---Joseph Frohnheiser..Riverview pl,..3 juev co-defendants--pulled a knife and robbed victims bike.
134 Ladner--Burglary--money stolen from jewelry box--possible suspects work for Neighborhood Housing Services.
865 Elk--UUV--vehicle recoverd with 1 arrest in Gerard PA..Corey A Potts...No Perm Address.
245 Swan--crim mis/larceny from car--window smashed ,stereo and amp stolen.
312 Perry --larceny--suspect is stealing aluminum doors from project units.
56 McCamley--larceny from car--tools stolen.
Abbott/Woodside--crim mis--rock thrown thru window.
2089 Seneca--larceny--wallet taken off counter at Buz N Bee.
122 Aldrich--larceny--items sold--suspect listed.
79 Kentucky--UUV/assault--warrant card issued.
Caz/N Legion--RUUV--recoverd for Pasco county Florida...suspects listed..vehicle involved in a hit & run from 2199 Seneca st.
72 Ryan--contempt of court order..suspect listed.
68 O'Connell--harassment--warrant card isued.
280 Seneca--V&T--1 arrest --drugs--Ashley Cicatello...Hamburg st
77 Edson--crim mis--tires flattened.
555 Hopkins--ID Theft--
698 S Ogden--crim mis--window broken
198 Amber--threats--suspect listed.
279 Perry apt#4--1 arrest--dis con/drugs--Michael Johnson...Kay st
94 Weimar--harassment--suspect listed.
78 Griswold--assist air 1 --3 arrests---Bradley Cambell..Barnard,Eric Voigt...Griswold,Timothy Voigt..Griswold st.
846 S Park--crim mis--1 arrest---Daniel Collins...S Park ave.
846 S Park--stalking--1 arrest--Daniel Collins
101 Milford--threats--1 arrest--Daniel Dublino..Parker...Hamburg NY

Friday Sept 18th

2091 Seneca--V&T-- 1 arrest--Christopher Marks(Brooklyn)--drove vehicle into building after fleeing Police Officers.Several bags on mrijuana also recovered.
Caz Park(basketball courts)--Robbery--2 arrests---Nicholas Knezevic..Whitehall....Kevin Murphy...Summit ave.. Orchard Park.
137 Vincennes--assault--1 arrest---Jamie Wild.
100 Athol--larceny from a car--broken drivers window,change & phone charger stolen.
727 Bailey--larceny---phone stolen of ledge--suspect listed.
16 S Cedar--Robbery--2 victims robbed at gun point--suspects are 2 B/M's,1st 6'2",light skinned,black car hardt jacket,blk jeans,18-21 ,yellow bandana..2nd...5'2",dark,black carhart,black jeans,ski mask..Suspects driving a dark Blue Impala...no ribs or hubcaps...fled North on Cedar.
S Park/Olcott--reckless driving---1 arrest---Adel Abdullah...Genesee st.
16 Glenn st--crim mis--car keyed.
134 Eden--Burglary--items -removed from house..suspects possibly worked for Neighborhood Housing Services doing work in the house.
85 Athol--larceny from a car--cash taken,mirror damaged.
82 Bloomfield--harassment--suspect listed.
48 Red Jacket--1 arrest--poss of stolen property---Jennifer Merritt...Goodrich..Clarence
153 Crystal--larceny from a car--laptop and bok stolen.
160 Abbott--crim mis/larceny from a car--window broken--2 amps stolen damage to racks.
21 Eaglewood--threats--suspect listed.
418 S Park--larceny--suspect listed.
Bailey/S Park--larceny--purse taken
157 Aldrich--harassment---suspect listed.
87 Kamper--larceny--playstation stolen--suspects listed.

Saturday Sept 19th

315 Union Ship Canal--assault--suspect listed.
133 Gilbert--larceny--warrant card issued.
Seneca/Ryan--larceny from a car---GPS,radar detector,tools stolen...also wallet from 2nd victim.
481 Abbott--attempt larceny---B/M suspect did attempt to steal case of cigarttes from TRIPPI foods truck...suspect fled west on Columbus.
Jefferson/Clinton--V&T--1 arrest DWI--Christopher Griffin..Progressive ave
400 Exchange--crim mis--obscene word scratch into car door.
105 Ladner--harassment--unk suspect
187 Melrose--arson--couch on porch started on fire.117 Louisianna--harassment--suspect listed.
151 Seymour--crim mis--suspect listed.
45 Seymour-assault--suspect listed.

Sunday Sept 20th

208 OConnell--UUV--moped stolen
78 Dash--larceny--suspect listed.
2171 Seneca--Burglary--1 arrest--Mark Delmonte...52 Hayden
S Park/OKell--Robbery--2 arrests--Courtney Dickinson...S Park...Andre Page...Mortimer st
Caz Park--Robbery--5 arrest--Mathew Handesty..Remington pl..Joseph Weisner & 3 Juev co defendants did assault victim and take $10.00 from wallet.
Clinton/Koepernick--1 arrest--Possesion of marijuana---Bianna Massey...Pamona st
William/Bailey--assault---1 arrest---Derrick Clendening....Sherman st
Seneca/Harrison--assault--suspect listed.
320 Perry--threats--suspect listed.
Seneca/Mineral Springs--1 arrest--Viol order of protection.---Mark delmonte---Hayden st
Seneca/Mineral Springs--1 arrest--drugs---Mark Delmonte---Hayden st
101 Fredro--crim mis--dent on car door
865 Elk--crim mis--bb hole in 4' by5' window.
126 Milton--crim mis--several windows shot out of car...posible bb gun.
1800 Clinton(Autumn Wood Senior Center)--2 --4' by 8' windows shattered by unknown object.
1708 Clinton st--crim mis--driver side car window broken by unknown means.


Related Links


My Unbalanced Opinions: crime stats 8/31-9/06 the 1st incident reported is worth noting

My Unbalanced Opinions: crime stats 9/7-9/13

My Unbalanced Opinions: crime stats 9/21-9/27

Friday, September 25, 2009

N. Fallls Enforces Residency. Why Can't Buffalo?



Buffalo Schools Residency Violator James Kane

The Niagara Falls City School District fired seven school employees for violating the district's residency policy. The district stated that it's policy was a way to stabilize the city's struggling tax base and give city children positive role models in their neighborhoods.

Upon hearing the news, Buffalo Schools Superintendent Dr. James Williams immediately called chief of staff James Kane into his office and suggested they do the same thing in Buffalo. Kane reminded Williams that he lives in a Buffalo suburb and this could present a problem. He might actually have to live next door to city children. Williams said, "We can't fire one of the Kanes. You guys are privileged and entitled and should be allowed to do whatever you want. Besides, if we fire you, it might lead the city to fire residency violators James Comerford (E. Aurora) and Tony Farina (N. Tonawanda). We also would have to fire our director of physical education, Dave "donuts" Thomas (E. Amherst). We'll just say you have "unique qualifications" (ie. the right last name, being related to a long line of political hacks, etc."

In unrelated news, Superintendent Williams announced he was addicted to cough syrup.

Schools fire 7 for not living in Falls*

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Mean Streets

Here's a neat scene from the movie Mean Streets. It is one of the first movies Martin Scorsese and Robert DeNiro ever did together. Scorsese likes putting Rolling Stones music in all of his movies. In this scene, small time gangster "Johnny Boy" struts into the bar in slow motion with the song Jumping Jack Flash playing in the background. If anyone knows where to find a hat like DeNiro has in this scene, please let me know.

International Update- The Moammar and Mahmoud Show


You like to think the world is being run by sane, capable people. Think again. After reading this article from the News Wire Services today, I was reminded of the Peter Sellers movie Dr. Stranglove. In that movie, miscommunication and paranoia led the West to thinking the Russians were about to drop the atomic bomb on us. What followed were 90 minutes of comedy based on mistrust and the arms race. This movie still remains a timeless classic.

Here's a recap from today's Buffalo News. I couldn't find the link so I copied the article from the Morning call. President Obama asked the leaders to move past " reflexive Anti-Americanism" and work together to solve the problems of the world. Apparently, the rest of the world doesn't know that our politicians can't agree on where to put stop signs or red lights, much less solve bigger problems like world peace.

Despite being given the customary 15 minutes, Libyan leader Moammar Gadhafi went on a 96 minute tirade. We haven't heard from this guy in 25 years and now, all of a sudden, he's saying something more ridiculous every other day. Moammar, Libya has never even made it to the 2nd round of the World Cup. Your country stinks. Keep your mouth shut.

Gadhafi criticized the war in Afghanistan and spoke about current events like the 1983 invasion of Grenada. He spoke so long he wore out his first translator and had to ask for a second. The Libyan wackjob called Obama "our son" referring to Obama's African heritage. This statement is sure to go over well in middle America. In a blatant ass kissing move, he also suggested Obama should be made US President for life. He demanded massive reparations for the colonization of Africa and urged additional investigations into the death of John F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King. (???) The only thing Gadhafi forgot to mention was the running back controversy on the Buffalo Bills involving Fred Jackson and Marshawn Lynch.

Not to be outdone, Iranian leader Mahmoud Ahmadinejad told a half empty crowd that Tehran was ready for peace and reconciliation. He then followed it up by ripping the US for the remainder of his speech. This led the US delegation to walk out. They must have heard enough and headed for a liquid lunch.

After the meeting, Obama met with Russian President Dmitry Medvedev (didn't he play for the Sabres in the 1990s?). The two spoke specifically about Iran and agreed to blow it up next week.
http://www.mcall.com/news/all-obama-un-092309-cn,0,187196.story

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Say No to Retreads



Ex-Gov. Pataki considers returning to NY politics
(AP) – 1 day ago

ALBANY, N.Y. — Former New York Republican Gov. George Pataki says he's considering a return to New York politics, possibly as a U.S. Senate candidate.

Pataki said Monday that New Yorkers already know him well, so he has more time to make a decision.

The Senate seats of Democrats Kirsten Gillibrand and Charles Schumer are up for grabs next year. Gillibrand's is considered more vulnerable.

The 64-year-old Pataki also says fellow Republican Rudy Giuliani is still seriously considering a run for governor.

Pataki was giving the Republican National Committee's response to President Barack Obama's economic appearance to New York.

Pataki says the nation is headed in the wrong direction and needs to focus on creating private-sector jobs.

Albert Einstein said the definition of insanity was doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. The same political names keep following us around like bad pennies. George Pataki, Andrew Cuomo, Eliott Spitzer.

Pataki was a bum. A blowhard. We do know you ,George. We know you did nothing for NY State. It was politics as usual. Now, he wants to come back and says he can create private sector jobs. No thanks. Why don't he go create these jobs from the private sector? The answer. He doesn't know squat about creating jobs and is completely full of crap. Don't fall for this carnival barker.

"Honest" Andrew Cuomo? Where have we heard that name before? Oh yeah, his father helped make NY the downtrodden capital of the world. He stunk and I'm sure the leaf didn't fall far from his liberal tree. Here's a testament to his "leadership". They are trying to hand the governorship to him and if he wins, Byron Brown is on his short list to be lieutenant Governor. At least if he wins, we won't have to watch Brown hand out keys to the city to celebrities every other day. How about the citizens that pulled people out of burning cars recently? Where are their keys Urkel?

Spitzer? Please. Go crawl back into your hole client #9. You had your opportunity. You blew it. Anyone that would trust this idiot with their vote should have to take a literacy test before voting. I don't even like seeing news reports about this clown.

Locally, we have borderline disabled state reps Sam Hoyt (son of Bill Hoyt) and Bill Stachowski (son of Stan Stachowski). If these buffoons weren't born into privilege, you would find them at Highway Oil across from McDonald's pumping gas. Hoyt is a spoiled imbecile who didn't deserve to be reelected last year. We all saw his embarrassing emails to his 20 year old intern. Sam, you've done less than nothing nothing for 20 plus years. Quit while you're behind. Stachowski just plain sucks. He's a fool, an embarrassment to WNY. 29 years of incompetence. It amazes me that he continues to get reelected.

Please, we cannot continue to support the same political names. It's time for change. These people know all about tricking the taxpayer and taking care of themselves and their families. What makes you think they will try anything different this time? They are bloodsuckers and need to disappear quickly off of the radar screen. Give us some new names. I think it was the Who that said, "Meet the new boss. He's the same as the old boss." Don't get fooled again.

Monday, September 21, 2009

Random Thoughts From the Ghetto-Volume 6



I look out my window and see the empty 40 oz beer bottles, hypodermic needles, crack pipes and abandoned shopping carts on my front lawn and I begin to think. The end results have become known as my random thoughts from the ghetto...

-I like when there is an exciting football game on TV and the camera zooms in on a fan that is passed out drunk. Could you imagine what coworkers are saying to that guy on Tuesday? Because you know he isn't showing up to work on Monday.

-By the way, if you're watching a football game with friends, they really don't care who is on your fantasy team or how the players are doing that you didn't put in your starting lineup this week. Please just shut the hell up and watch the game.

-I like those billboards that show a picture with a brief inspiring message underneath it. For example, the one by the 190 N. entrance ramp on Seneca St./Bailey Ave. (right near the S. Buffalo adult movie district) which shows the father pushing his disabled son in a makeshift wheelchair at various marathons throughout the year. This one reads Devotion:Pass it on.

-This week's Avis We Try Harder Award has to go to the Mickey Kearns volunteer who walked past the Kearns sign on my lawn, the Kearns bumper sticker on my car, and the 15 Kearns signs next to my side door on Monday to remind me to get out and vote for Kearns on Tuesday. At least somebody's hustling. Awareness:Pass it on.

-I rarely pick up my phone but I try to call everyone back with one notable exception. If someone calls and says, "I need a favor from you" but doesn't say what the favor is, I wait at least 72 hours before calling them back. I need to know the specifics behind the favor so I can think of a decent lie to get out of it if it is an unreasonable request. Chances are, if they don't want to tell you what it is, they probably figure it is going to be hard to find someone to accommodate them and they've pegged you as their sucker.

-A friend of mine told me he paid $100 for a church organist to play at a 45 minute funeral. It makes me wonder why I wasted all that time kicking around a soccer ball when I was a kid. Tell your kids to start taking music lessons.

-It's pretty cool how current events can sometimes affect the English language. Remember in the 1980s and 90s when all of the postal carriers were going to the post offices where they worked and opening fire on their supervisors? Everyone started associating violent behavior with postal workers and the phrase "going postal" was born. Kids today have all heard this phrase. They all know it means to go crazy. However, very few of them know the circumstances behind it's origin because fortunately, these events haven't been occurring with as much frequency within the postal community lately. Score one for the English language and the ongoing anger management efforts of the US Postal Service.

-Queen City Fairy Tale- Once upon a time, I was driving back from Sunset Bay Beach Club. I had too much to drink and my taillight was broken. Just as I was texting someone, a Hamburg police officer pulled me over and told me I had been speeding. He confiscated my handicapped parking tag and told me my registration and insurance had lapsed. I told him my team had just won the WNY over 30 league soccer championship and I was unaccustomed to having to walk. He was going to arrest me until I demanded that he take me straight to the mayor's office. "Don't you know who I am?" I asked. He said, "I don't care who you are, you're under arrest." At that point, my cousin spoke up and said, "Do you realize you are about to arrest the face of Buffalo?" The police officer finally realized who I was. He said he had heard stories about my blogging exploits but wasn't sure if I actually existed or was just an urban legend. He apologized for causing such an inconvenience and asked if he could get my autograph and take a picture of us together for his kids. I told him to make it quick because I didn't have all freaking day. He then gave us a police escort back into the city.
Then I woke up and realized I had to go to school and read The Cat in the Hat to a bunch of 1st graders in less than an hour. And they all lived happily ever after. (This story was inspired by true events. Some names and dates have been changed to protect the entitled.) Go forth and sin no more.

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Old 1st Ward Nicknames




For a few years back in the 90s, I worked at the Old 1st Ward Community Center on Republic St. Some people say it's where the seeds of my insanity were first planted. Actually, I was able to meet many terrific kids and families down there. Some are still doing remarkably well. Others show up periodically on my weekly crime stats report.

One of the things I'll never forget were the crazy nicknames the kids gave each other. There were certain kids whose actual first names were unknown to even their own friends. Some of the names I remember were "Mooch" Felschow (not to be confused with my fellow staff member "Mooch" Cullen), "Bubba" Conway, "Louie" LaRusch, "Bizzy" Sumbrum, "Yoda" Brill, "Wack" Bannister, Brian "Smitty" Smith (incidently, Smitty's dad was known to everyone as "Bughead"), The Heidenger's uncle Tom (known as "Hot Wire" Heidinger because he was a skilled electrician), there was a kid known simply as "Dirtball", and another kid who came up from Pennysylvania. He had pure blonde hair like the wrestler Ric Flair so they called him "Pa. Flair". There were many more that I can't remember.

One of my favorite stories involves the Heidinger's ficticious uncle Cecil. There were about 10 Heidingers in the phone book. All except one were the Heidingers from the 1st Ward. The other one was a Cecil Heidinger who was listed with an East side address. For those that don't know, the Old 1st Ward is one of the whitest neighborhoods in the city. Whenever there was a big event at the center, there might only be only a few blacks in attendance. Nick and Andrew Heidinger and myself would always try to be the first to spot their crazy ficticious "uncle Cecil". It wasn't meant to be racist, just an ongoing inside joke. We had some great times back then. I miss the Old 1st Ward and the people I met down there. Here is an article from today's Buffalo News that made me think of those days.

List of nicknames is big hit at reunion*

Accident on S. Park Ave.

We could hear the sirens going up and down S. Park Ave from our school on Wednesday afternoon. A 30 year old Sorrento Cheese employee, Sarah Gregory of East Amherst, had been struck by a car. Her leg was completely severed. Two good Samaritans, Edgar King and Peter Taboni, came to her aid. King used his belt as a tourniquet to control the bleeding and possibly saved her life. Before she passed out, Gregory's only concern was for her ten month old infant daughter. King said he believes it was her daughter that gave Gregory the will to live.

I saw another story where King, a retired Chevy worker, broke down and said God put him on this earth to save Gregory's life. Taboni is a former player of mine and I know him to be a credible person. He is quoted in today's paper as saying that excessive speed was a factor. Hats off to both of these guys who could have just waited until the paramedics arrived but chose to get involved and make a difference. Last I heard, Gregory had lost her leg but had been upgraded from critical to stable condition. We're all hoping she continues in her recovery.


Saturday, September 19, 2009

crime stats 9/7-9/13




Monday September 7th

114 Aldrich--threats--suspect listed.
143 Weimar--Burglary--door forced--tv,cash,jewelry,DVD's,playstation,games stolen.
205 Weiss--Assault--1 arrest---Daniel Paul
63 Remoleno--2 arrests---Jennifer Lasalle,Juan Lasalle....Obstructing,Resisting,harassment
63 Remoleno--Assault--1 arrest---Anthony Lasalle
98 Tennesee--Burglary--CD's,DVD's..BB rifle stolen
142 Mackinaw---Assault--suspect listed
142 Mackinaw--assault--warrant card issued.
459 Abbott--1 arrest--Jeremiah Alguire...Unlawful imprisonment,Crim mis,Drugs,endangering child.
635 Fulton--Burglary--unk B/M entered house and took a camera.
64 Wescott--assault--1 arrest---Adam Carney
1 Babcock--larceny--equipment stolen from 12-1-08 to 6/1/09.

Tuesday Sept 8th

32 Leamington--UUV
489 Marilla--larceny--cash stolen from house.
2250 seneca--shoplifter--1 arrest---Arthur Mascellino...Minnetonka ave
701 Ohio--Burglary--1 arrest---Willie Rumph Jr...Steelawanna,Lackawanna...did steal scrap from location.
25 Remoleno--Burglary--suspect listed.
29 Woodside--Burglary---1 arrest--Bill Noblett...Harding Road.
58 Ward Ct--Burglary--unk suspect climbed thru kitchen window...laptop stolen
Evans PD--1 arrest--Buffalo warrant--Mark Wheeler..Whitfield ave
344 Swan--crim mis--pr/m broke rear car window and took GPS
384 Louisinna--crim mis--9-5-09...know suspect did break window.
2118 Seneca--crim mis--driver side window broken
82 Riverview--attempt Burglary--windows opened,screen damaged.No entry to house.
117 O'Kell--ID theft--suspect listed.
Littell/Bailey--1 arrest--warrant--Jackie Crouch...Troupe st

Wednesday September 9th

117 Hayden--Burglary/Assault--2 suspects listed.
89 Roberts--Burglary--screen removed--camera stolen.
117 Hayden--Burglary--window broken--2 flat screen tvs stolen
2024 Clinton--assault--suspect listed.
249 Babcock--crim mis--2 suspects listed did damage property in victims house.
1312 Seneca--1 arrest--drugs---Kyle Cunnigham
1989 S Park--harassment--suspect listed.
117 Hayden--tresspassing---2 arrests--Joseph Driscoll..Remolen...Tamara Jacobs...Kamper st
117 Barnard--Reckless endangerment--1 arrest---Amy Lane...Barnard st
1585 S park--Harassment--1 arrest---Joseph Kuhn Jr...S park
392 Fulton---assault--suspect listed.
35 Geary--assault--1 arrest---Ronald White...Fulton st

Thursday September 10th

295 Abbott--larceny from car--CD's,Radar Detector,change stolen.
2371 Seneca--larceny--purse stolen from steps...contained cell phone,cash,credit cards.
155 Bailey--larceny--did pump gas and drove off 2 times.suspect listed.
2024 Clinton--larceny--phone stolen by known suspect.
155 Lockwood--larceny from car--pass side window broken---stereo stolen.
2098 Seneca--Burglary--victims ex girlfriend stole cash,debit card.
93 Hayward--Burglary--lock pryed--tv,DVD,4 pair sneakers,food stolen.
555 S Legion--Arson--vehicle started on fire.
Hamburg PD--1 arrest--Buffalo warrant...Kevin O'Connor..Lakeshore rd
37 Hobart--assault--1 arrest---Raymond Chrostowski...Hobart
22 Olcott--threats--suspect listed.
32 Lester--harassment--suspect listed.
2024 Clinton--assault--suspect listed.

Friday September 11th

57 Spring St---larceny--money used on bank card.
83 Newman--larceny from car--GPS,Camera,change stolen.
14 Dismonda--larceny--purse stolen ..suspect listed.
1694 Seneca--larceny--wallet stolen.
Alabama/S Park--crim mis--rock from lawn mower broke car window.
6 Ashton--Menacing--1 arrest---Russell Ortolano..Ashton pl
50 Weiss--phone threats--suspect listed.
665 Perry--assault--warrant card issued.
45 Woodside--1 arrest--V&T/drugs---Christopher Williams..Woodside.
1735 Seneca--assault--suspect listed.
2296 Seneca--menacing with a gun--known suspect did threaten victim with a gun.
Seneca/Imson--Indecent Exposure--1 arrest--Jerry Burison..Milford ave
888 S Park--Viol of Order of protection--1 arrest---Frank Flowers..Adams st

Saturday September 12th

94 OConnell--Burglary--entry thru rear window--shotgun stolen.
Cazenovia Park---attempt larceny from vehicle--1 arrest--Mathew Perry...34 Hayden st....attempt larceny/Crim Mis/disorderly conduct.
1460 S Park--larceny--purse taken from shoping cart.
Cazenovia Park--1 arrest...Vincent Dusch...East Main St..Hamburg...Obstruction/Resisting arrest.
129 Trowbridge--assault--warrant card issued.
79 Hamburg apt#3--assault--1 arrest---Brant Monk.
38 Coronada..phone threats by unknown suspect.
530 Bailey--harassment--suspect listed.
182 Maurice--harassment--1 arrest--Meghan Filer..Toby Hill..West Seneca

Sunday September 13th

94 Ladner--Burglary--door pryed..nothing missing at this time.
79 Ladner--larceny--money stolen from dresser.
196 Whitfield--larceny from a car---stereo/speakers stolen.
139 Parkview--Burglary--1 arrest---Jason Norris ..Parkview---did crawl thru window and attempt to steal pipes.
34 Latona Ct--Acc injury--report taken.
565 Abbott-- assault--suspect listed.
6 Ashton--Harassment--1 arrest---Russell Orldano..Ashton
25 Trowbridge--harassment--suspect listed
1755 Clinton--harassment--1 arrest--Calvin Blackman...Congress st
674 Hopkins--1 arrest--drugs---Reimundo Valentin... Hopkins
71 Edson --crim mis--posible suspect listed
18 Abbott--assault--unk male did headbutt victim
Bailey/Clinton--Accident/Injury--1 arrest --DWI--Robert Walker...Reed st
10 Paul Pl--assault--1 arrest--Bradley Hickok
158 Hamburg--crim mis--driverside mirror damaged.
90 Seminole--threats-1 arrest--Stacey McGowan
Seneca/Emslie--accident/Injury--1 arrest--DWI---Jacqueline Ross...Manor Lane...Hamburg
Seneca/Edson--assault--2 arrests--William Dumovich..Indian Church...Vincent Rizzo...Ridgewood.
187 Melrose--1 arrest--drugs--Sherry Lewis

Friday, September 18, 2009

Bishop Timon Donor Unveiled



The local media won't leave me alone. They have been calling me all day and camping out in front of my house. As soon as the story about an anonymous donor giving Bishop Timon HS a $500,000.00 gift became public, they made me the obvious suspect. When told the donation was anonymous, Senator Bill Stachowski said, "I don't see what the big deal is, as long as everyone agreed to it. What's the problem?" Then one of his aides pointed out to him the difference between anonymous and unanimous.

Since they are about to make it public, I'd like to come clean to the readers of this blog and admit that it was I in fact who made the donation. Bishop Timon is a great school that has provided quality catholic education to thousands of S. Buffalo young men. More importantly, it will provide a firm educational base for the future young men of the Kane, Comerford, Keane, and Finnegan families before they are handed high paying no-show government jobs immediately after their graduation.
$500,000 donation is Timon-St. Jude’s largest*

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Mrs Ostanski, Please Report to the Prin...Never Mind



In this country, people are innocent until proven guilty but not on this website. They say a picture is worth a thousand words. In this case, it is worth 1000 bucks. In a scene that would make principal Rooney from Ferris Bueller's Day Off proud, we have principal LuAnn Ostanski of Kenmore East HS helping herself to the students petty cash. It looks like she borrowed a few of Michael Jackon's sequined gloves to try and throw off the Kenmore police. She never expected a hidden camera would catch her in the act. She admitted to stealing less than $1000, but why do I think it was more than that? In an ironic twist, students from the in-school detention room came out and threatened to call Ostanski's parents. At her former school, money was missing and an assistant principal was asked to resign (despite no proof). He was black. He is currently going through phone books looking for an attorney as we speak.

Dr. James Williams of the Buffalo Public Schools has already offered Ostanski a job in his district once the case is resolved. "Mrs. Ostanski meets all of the qualifications to be a principal in Buffalo. First off, she lives in the suburbs. Secondly, we can have her work with McKinley principal Crystal Barton. She's good at stealing money from vending machines and taking field trips to Europe with the student's money. I think they'll work well together. After all, it's all about the chiiiiiiiiiillldren" Williams concluded.

Photos caught Kenmore East principal stealing*

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Public Service Announcement

In the next few days, I won't be able to write as much as I've written in the past few months. I am working on a grant after work and it is taking up a considerable amount of time. Thank you to everyone for reading all of the posts. I'm still trying to figure out what a blog is. Once the grant is completed and I can mail it in, hopefully things will be back to normal.

Four More Years For Downtown Byron Brown


Byron Brown was reelected mayor of Buffalo yesterday after a hard fought Democratic primary against Mickey Kearns. You have to give Brown credit. He did what he had to do and was able to get his base to turn out. To mark the occasion, his son drove him to the victory party in a car he stole earlier in the day on Main and Winspear.

South Buffalo was well represented at the victory party at D'Arcy McGee's. Neighborhood sycophant Marge Ryan was supposed to announce Brown to the crowd but she became injured earlier in the week after patting herself on the back for the 603rd time in the Metro Community News. Brown's speech was abruptly cut short after County Legislator Tim Kennedy rushed the stage and reportedly ate the microphone.

Brown easily wins second term*

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Local Soldier Gets Ralph Wilsoned in a Case of Mistaken Identity

When Mark Twain got older, he became a bit of a recluse. Rumors became rampant that he had died and he issued a now famous statement updating his status (so to speak), "I can assure you that the reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated", he said.

The family of 26 year old Jesse Jasper received a call from the military telling them he had been killed in Afghanistan. Messages of condolence started appearing on his Facebook page. This was news to his girlfriend who had just spoken to him and said he was very much alive. Oops. Looks like a classic case of mistaken identity.

This story would be funny if it wasn't for the fact that 23 year old Tyler Judan of Kansas was in fact killed in Afghanistan. Just imagine how both their families felt when they received the news. I definitely support our troops but this story made me think of this famous anti war song sung at Woodstock by "country" Joe McDonald. Just substitute Iraq or Afghanistan every time he uses the word Vietnam and remember that those of us who don't learn from history are condemned to repeat it.



Soldier’s parents get worst news —then best*

Monday, September 14, 2009

Random Thoughts From the Ghetto-Volume 5



I look out my window and see the empty 40 oz beer bottles, hypodermic needles, crack pipes and abandoned shopping carts on my front lawn and I begin to think. The end results have become known as my random thoughts from the ghetto...


-Whenever I hear that someone does everything by the book, I want to take the book and smash it over their heads. The world is filled with examples of people who have defied conventional wisdom and achieved success in the most unorthodox of ways. Jimi Hendrix learned to play a right handed guitar backwards because he was left handed. His only failing grade (an F) was in music class. Beethoven was tone deaf. Soccer players need to play with both feet. However, Argentinean legend Diego Maradona never touched the ball with his right foot. He was so good with his left that he didn't have to. Larry Bird was slow and couldn't jump yet he dominated a sport where everyone else was fast and could jump. We can't define what "it" is but when people have it, you'll know it.

-Andy Warhol said, "Art is anything you can get away with." We try to prove that here on a daily basis.


-I ate so much junk food this summer, I couldn't fit into any of my dress pants for the start of the school year. I went to the Salvation Army and brought four great pairs of pants for $17. It's funny. Whenever I shop there, I never seem to run into Tim Kennedy or Brian Higgins.

-We marched in the Puerto Rican Day Parade with Mickey Kearns this weekend. It reminded me of a kid from my neighborhood growing up. Both his parents were Hispanic yet his favorite shirt read Proud to be Polish. His family must have shopped at the Salvation Army too.

-My friend told me he went to a Chinese restaurant for dinner last week. After dinner, they gave him a fortune cookie. It read, "that wasn't chicken you just ate."

-I wonder what Saddam Hussein's body double is doing these days. Remember that guy? He was the guy who looked exactly like him, that the Iraqi government would sometimes send out as a replacement whenever they thought his life might be in danger. Can you imagine how the interview process for that job went? "We'd like to offer you a job. Whenever we think the real Saddam might be assassinated or poisoned, we need you to go out in public and pretend to be him. The job might have a few risks associated with it but wait until you see the great dental plan we have."

-One of my all time favorite movies is the first Rocky movie. It's a story about a guy who gets a second chance in life and makes the most of it. I don't know why they ruin great movies by making sequels. In the first movie, one of Rocky's great traits is that he is basically punch drunk. He's been hit so many times in the head that he can barely communicate. Similarly in Rocky II, he proposes to Adrian by saying, I was wondering if you wouldn't mind marrying me much. Then in Rocky IV, after he beats the Russian, he delivers this articulate speech in perfect English to the Russian crowd. Are you kidding me? He goes from barely being able to speak to becoming the next US Secretary of State in just four movies. And so it goes...

I Hope People Are Listening To Carl Paladino


You'll hear leaders say, "he's crazy." That's what the critics like to say whenever they perceive someone as a threat to their seat on the status-quo gravy train. I can assure you Carl Paladino is not crazy. He's just a self made guy who doesn't need any of these politicians and wants to leave a lasting legacy of change on this region.

You might remember, Paladino's lawsuit was the impetus for the state deciding to finally tear down the toll booths on the 190. Until then, they said we could not survive without the "revenue". Their favorite buzzword for tax. He also has been an outspoken critic of the Buffalo School Board and Administration.


I ask that you please check out his Unanymous Declaratin of the People of WNY. In it, he's asking people to help overthrow tyrant Byron Brown, Stan Lypsey of the Buffalo News, "honest" Andrew Rudnick of the ridiculous Bflo Niagara Partnership, as well as our two borderline disabled Senators Antoine Thompson and William Stachowski. He's also calling for a two week boycott of the Buffalo News. (That should be easy since most people get their news now from this site anyway.)

http://www.wben.com/Commentary--Carl-Paladino-s--Declaration-Of-Indepe/5213496

Sunday, September 13, 2009

Williams Calls For Moratorium On Charter Schools


At one time he described them as "healthy competition," now Buffalo Superintendent James Williams has called on the state for a moratorium on new charter schools within the city. For the first time ever, there is a waiting list to get into every charter school in Buffalo. Hardly a ringing endorsement for Williams or the traditional public school system in Buffalo.

There are many great public schools in my opinion. City Honors, the Olmstead schools, Discovery. However, charter schools are a good alternative in case your child isn't lucky enough to get into one of these select schools.

To be fair to Williams, charter schools have many advantages over traditional public schools. They can pick and choose who they accept. Children who cause problems in the classroom are removed from the school. They are often accused of not taking special education students.

In my opinion, the administration in Buffalo and the school board have done very little to address behavior issues in the classroom. When I subbed at school 28 years ago, I remember a fight broke out in class. A student not involved in the fight threw a desk across the room. He was back in the classroom the following Monday. This would never be tolerated at a charter school.

You'll hear people say these kids are poor or they have bad home lives. In many cases, there is little parental support at home but I say using that as an excuse is a bunch of garbage. There are much poorer kids in Africa and South America going to school on dirt floors as we speak who are outperforming our own kids. Why is that? Because they view the opportunity for an education as a privilege and not a right. The leaders in Buffalo need to start holding these parents and their kids accountable for how they behave in the classroom. There is no excuse. Some of these kids act like animals because the Buffalo administration continues to tolerate it. They are only there for the free breakfast, lunch, and (pretty soon) dinner.

If they have to make more alternative schools for these kids in Buffalo, so be it. I'm just sick of all these made up disorders they give these kids. ADD, ADHD, Authority Defiant Disorder. You name it. When we were kids, we called kids that did not respect adults punks. I think Williams call for a moratorium is a desperate attempt to preserve all the no show jobs the Buffalo school system has created for itself. In any event, we won't be seeing any waiting lists to get into school 28 any time soon.
Poor schools drive many residents out of Buffalo*

Related Links
My Unbalanced Opinions: State Union President Wants to Limit School Choice

Cool Story From Today's Baltimore Sun


A message in a wine bottle washed ashore this week after spending five years and 4,000 miles bobbing across the Atlantic Ocean. It was found by a retired electrician in England. The note reportedly said, "Please help us. Our ship was wrecked in a terrible storm. I am stuck on a remote island with the skipper, a professor, a farm girl, an actress, a millionaire, and his wife. They have come up with some great ideas to get us off of the island but I keep screwing them up. We're running out of food and the professor says he's going to use me in an experiment. I don't like the way the skipper calls me his "little buddy" and I think he might have cannibalistic tendencies." Gilligan.
Md. teen's note in a bottle reaches England 5 years later -- baltimoresun.com

Pam Sutherland, I know you are a fan of the Police. This video is for you.

Saturday, September 12, 2009

crime stats 8/31-9/06 the 1st incident reported is worth noting

Monday August 31st


city hall--crim mis--interfering with police investigation of Leonard Stokes--suspect looks like Steve Urkel from TV show Family Matters...claims to be running the city
130 Cushing--Crim Mis/Larceny from a car---door pryed open ...car tereo stolen
South Park/Bailey--larceny--wallet stolen from car at TOPS on 8-27-09
913 Tifft--larceny--several items stolen during mo2 suspects listed.
777 McKinley--larceny--credit card used without permission.
1971 South Park--shoplifter---1 arrest---William Clancy..Lilac ...18 pack of beer stolen.
149 Cambria--Burglary--front door forced--copper pipes removed.
93 Hayward--1 arrest for Robbery from 8-27-09...juvenile female arrested.
1570 South Park--crim mis--window damaged--suspect listed.
Fillmore/Hardwood--1 arrest--prostitution---Barbara Knapp...Exchange st
Seneca/Bailey--1 arrest--Santana Sontiago..Spaulding st..drugs/Obstruction.
S Park/reading--V&T/Drugs--1 arrest--Nelmer Ceopedo..Parkside

Tuesday Sept 1st

54 Columbus--Fraud--ex husband charged on credit card...$4,938.00
140 Sidway--larceny--money stolen from purse--suspect listed.
1790 Clinton--larceny--trailer stolen.
12 Leamington--Burglary--1 arrest on 9-2-9..David Patton ..Seneca st
S Park/Smith--1 arrest---DWI--Brian Newmann...Breighton...Sandy Springs..Georgia
Botanical Gardens--crim mis--2 glass panels damaged on greenhouse.
75 Aldrich--RUUV
743 McKinley--phone threats--known suspect
A District--1 arrest--warrant---Bradley Acker..Harlem rd...west Seneca
106 Spann--threats--suspect listed
97 Mariemont---harassment--suspect listed.
106 Kamper--threats--suspect listed.
563 Hopkins--1 arrest--Poss of forged instrument(U.S.treasury check)---Derrick white...Hopkins
87 Weaver--menacing--unk suspect pointed a gun at complt.
Seneca/Fillmore--1 arrest--marijuana---Willie D Hardy...Townsend
84 Mariemont--harassment---suspect listed.
325 Baraga--threats--suspect listed.
605 Fulton--threats--1 arrest--James Frost...Fulton st--poss of weapon(knife)---menacing.

Wednesday Sept 2nd

975 Abbott(Wilson Farms)--Burglary--window broken--unk amount of items stolen.
67 Good--larceny--inspection sticker stolen
418 S Park--larceny--Money taken from benefit card.
1115 Seneca(Cigars)--crim mis--window broken & sign damaged by known person.
150 Peabody--larceny--bike stolen from front lawn.
435 Bailey--larceny--money withdrawn from checking account with out permission.
1439 South Park--Burglary--copper pipes taken from basement.
110 Lockwood--harassment--suspect listed.
1460 South Park(TOPS)--assault--1 arrest--Franklin Mietlicki...william St
1989 Seneca(TOPS)--shoplifter--1 arrest---Rebecca Schmidt...Main st ..east Aurora
Caz Casino--1 arrest--Gary Colvin---tresspassing/warrants---
80 Abbott--Burglary--window broken--copper pipes stolen.
Caz Park Casino--1 arrest--Public Lewdnes...John Ames...ramona st
OKell Playground--harassment--suspect listed.
158 Jefferson---V&T--3 arrests--drugs....Jeffery McCrayer...N Ogden. Defendant.Harrison...Hayward st...Rashawn Pennick...Johnson st
2406 S park--shoplifter--1 arrest--John Musiak Center st...Buffalo
2360 Seneca--assault--3 victims ..assaulted in MR Sports Bar--suspects listed.

Thursday Sept 3rd

123 Orlando--Robbery atempt---1 arrest---Lana Chutko...Vermont st
Cazenovia Park--larceny--football stolen from unlocked car.
1620 S park--forgery--suspect forged checks and cashed same.
Abbott/Bailey--larceny--wallet taken
699 Abbott--phone threats--suspect listed.
1205 Seneca--Drugs--1 arrest on complt of drug sales...Juan Oliveras ..374 Swan st
S Park/Amber--Robbery...possible suspects listed.
206 Elk--crim mis--car damaged by known suspect.
11 Roseville--Burglary In Progress---1 arrest--Michael Tait...361 Fargo..

Friday Sep 4th

8 Cable--threats with knife--1 arrest---Mark Palmowski..Cable st
26 Cumberland--harassment--1 arrest---Frank Zawistowski..
1895 Clinton st(Dads)--narcotics use in bar...3 arrests---Dawn Wachowicz...147 Barnard st...George Cipressi...180 Weimar...Chargn McCudden..NPA..Cocaine possesion.
205 Dingens--phone threats--suspect listed.
430 South Park(Catholic Health Systems)--crim mis--possible bullet holes in window.
Abbott/Red Jacket--assault--suspect listed.
Abbott/edgewood--1 arrest for Obstruction....Ralph Witt..Mesa Arizona
Southside/Abbott--larceny--wallet taken from KFC.
Kelburn St--Rape--victim reports 2 unk B/M did take her in house and force her to have sex--suspects driving a white Ford wagon with a black fender or door on drivers side.Victim can not ID.
2098 Seneca--harassmnet--suspect listed.
94 Weimar--phone threats--suspect listed.

Saturday Sept 5th

1182 Seneca--Crim mis--1 arrest--Kevin Dean...Red Jacket Pkwy
Red Jacket/Abbott--harassment--1 arrest--Kevin dean..Red Jacket Pkwy
938 Exchange--assault--1 arrest--James OBrien...Andrew
Louisianna/O'Connell--lRUUV--suspect listed.
93 Parkview--threats--suspect listed.
940 S Park--Burglary--screen removed from window--purse taken
Foot of Leddy st--RUUV
162 Selkirk--crim mis--driver side mirror broken
1267 Seneca--phone threats--suspect listed.
A District--1 arrest --warrant--Anthony Gretzler...wheelock
Dingens Service road--1 arrest--warrant---Joseph Zanghi....Edward st
105 Carlyle--Burglary/Assault--1 arrest--Joseph Swartz...NPA
2219 South Park--threats--1 arrest--James Murray...Marilla st
A District--1 arrest on warrant---Andrew Dumas...Kimberly st
171 W Woodside--crim mis--8 Keppel--Viol of Order of Protection--suspect listed.

Sunday Sept 6th

South Park/McCamley--larceny--bike stolen--possible suspect listed.
2426 S Park(Reckios)--crim mis--vehcile damaged by known suspect during a large fight.
2426 S Park(Reckios)--harassment--warrant card issued.
75 Princeton--Burglary/Robbery/Assault--suspect listed.
401 Germania--Burglary--food,dvds stolen
133 altruria--Crim mis--van damaged
76 Garvey--fight--1 arrest--Delores Makowski
A District--1 arrest--warrant---Anna Tenerowicz..sweetland rd...Evans
155 Bailey--shoplifter--1 arrest--Kellie McCarthy...W Woodside
42 Edson--crim mis--1 arrest---Issa Ghani..
Cazenovia Park--assault from 6-21-09--1 arrest---Issa Ghani
57 Ryan--assault--1 arrest---James J Baker
927 Exchange--prostitution--1 arrest---Nicole R Pupenbroke...Exchange st
Trowbridge/Hopkins--1 arrest--poss of marijuana...Jamal Powell...Trowbridge
2348 seneca--1 arrest--V&T---John M Keller....Woodcrest..west Seneca
114 Aldrich--assault--1 arrest--Charles W Mobus

Friday, September 11, 2009

Jean (Zoizack) Becker (1939-2009)

My good friend Kevin Beckers's mom Jean passed away this week from cancer. She was 70 years old. She was born in the Valley but spent most of her life in the St. Teresa's Seneca St. neighborhood. Mrs Becker was very instrumental in starting a hockey program at Cazenovia Park now known as the Southtowns Stars Amateur Hockey Association. She was active with the group from 1972-1988. The association created the Robert Becker award in honor of her husband to honor the league's most valuable player each season. When she was leaving the program in the late 1980s, the other board members voted to give Jean Becker the last award.

You always hear people talk about shopping in your neighborhood. Mrs. Becker could have moved a long time ago but she chose to live the later years of her life on Roanoake Pkwy. She was well known and well liked by her neighbors on Roanoake Pkwy. Roanoake has one of those islands in the middle of it. Each year on Labor Day and Memorial Day, Mrs. Becker would line the island with tiny American flags. She passed away on Sunday. On the following day (Labor Day), neighbors on Roanoake lined the island with the flags as a tribute to her. They say people don't know their neighbors anymore but everyone on Roanoake will always remember Mrs. Becker.

Jean Becker (1939-2009)

9/11/01 Never Forget



Eight years ago, our country was attacked without provocation in New York City, Washington DC, and Shanksville, Pa. Over 3,000 innocent victims lost their lives. The people who perpetrated the attack were extremist religious zealots. I know more than a few Arab-Americans and they were as saddened by the attacks as you and I.

It is often said that sometimes the worst in humanity brings out the best in humanity. I think it is important to remember everyone (the police, firefighters, EMTs, and ordinary citizens) that put their lives at risk on that day and in the days that followed. Many of them went into the buildings knowing they might never make it out. People on the third plane voted to cause it to go down, so it wouldn't crash into another building (causing more casualties).

I came across this video by accident. I wanted to write about the guy they called "Spider man" who had climbed the towers a few times during the 80s and 90s. I wasn't sure his name but I remember how angry he was that they had did this. He felt sorry for the victims and felt a huge connection to these buildings. Hopefully, I'll find his story soon. Anyway, when doing the search, I came across this video. It is the spider man tribute to 9/11. I was never big on comic books but this video shows the events of 9/11 through the eyes of spider man. The artwork is amazing and it chillingly recreates the heroism displayed on that day by everyday citizens.

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Happy St. Patrick's Day From Your Local Nerds





Please click on the picture for a better view and use the email link at the bottom of the post to send it to your friends so the last 1/2 hour of my life won't end up being a complete waste of time.


County Legislator Tim Kennedy's unhealthy "mancrush" on Brian Higgins has been brought to you by Cellino & Barnes, your injury attorneys. 854-2020

The following video has absolutely nothing to do with the picture I just posted. But who cares? It's my blog and I'll put whatever I want on it.

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Where's Reverend Sharpton Now?




Does anyone remember a few years ago when the media was coming after the four kids in the Babcock neighborhood for what was called a racially motivated crime? After looking into the facts, it was discovered that the person who was beaten was a drug dealer and was causing all sorts of problems in the neighborhood.

My favorite part of that story was when a busload of bleeding heart white people showed up in the neighborhood to conduct a protest without knowing any of the facts regarding the incident. Neighborhood residents came out and told them "we don't go to your town and tell you how to live. Don't come down here and tell us how to live". They were right.

This brings us back to the recent beating of a white teen on Genessee because he had a black girlfriend. It wasn't a robbery. His cell phone, CD player, and cash were not taken during the attack. If the situation were reversed, and several white kids beat up a black kid for having a white girlfriend, this would have immediately been labeled a hate crime and would have become a national story. Al Sharpton would be here. I hope the detectives get moving and make some arrests in this case.

Course of interracial couple's love is not smooth*

Different Stokes

Mayor Urkel hasn't been this mad since they cancelled his show Family Matters. He keeps saying "I did nothing wrong." By that does he mean knowingly persuading police to let a criminal go? This one incident should show everyone that this guy is completely devoid of character. He is no leader and I think more and more people are seeing that every day.


Monday, September 7, 2009

Random Thoughts From the Ghetto-Volume 4



I look out my window and see the empty 40 oz beer bottles, hypodermic needles, crack pipes and abandoned shopping carts on my front lawn and I begin to think. The end results have become known as my random thoughts from the ghetto...

-It's always funny on TV sitcoms when there is a fire and an able bodied male screams and pushes old ladies and children out of the way in order to get out. Fortunately, most of us will never be in a fire in a crowded place. However, there are certain people we all suspect would act that way given the situation. The funniest scenes like this that come to mind are George Costanza on Seinfeld followed by Cliff Claven on Cheers.

-Something you never see anymore on TV is when someone accidentally lets go of, or pushes a person in a wheelchair down a declining hallway. After undergoing the initial shock of the situation, the next noise the viewer hears is usually the person in the wheelchair screaming or the sound of the wheelchair going down a flight of stairs. Usually, the person had been portrayed as a cranky character which made their circumstances funny. In real life, this would be horrible of course. But it's TV. It's not meant to be real. The person in the wheelchair is an actor whose probably not even disabled. They don't care! 99% of the people at home in wheelchairs think it's funny too. However, God forbid anyone's feelings get hurt. The runaway wheelchair. Another victim of our politically correct society.

-I don't watch too much TV nowadays but one show I find interesting is Forensic Files. The show is narrated by Peter Thomas. His voice is amazing and they always play this eerie music in the background every time some new question arises. It is usually on Tru TV 600 times a day. The best Forensic Files shows aren't even the ones that focus on murders. I saw one that showed how they discovered "mad cow" disease in England. Another showed how the sewer system in Pittsburgh (I think?) was the cause of all these unexplained deaths due to E-Coli. Science was my worst subject in my 33 wasted years of school, but I do enjoy watching this show.

-As everyone knows, the world lost a great entertainer recently. He was a superstar whose talent captivated the entire world. He was widely regarded as the most charismatic person to come along since Elvis Presley. And like Elvis, he died way too young and before his time. Yes, Bea Arthur is no longer with us. But we will be blessed with his incredible talent on reruns of the Golden Girls for many more years to come.

-With the Buffalo Bills recent pre-season troubles, the NFL has made a few schedule changes. They will be opening up the season next week against the Toronto Argonauts of the CFL. Their last home game will be against the Kenmore West Blue Devils.

-An embezzler, a priest, and a molester walk into a bar... And that was just the first guy!!!

-When someone gets killed, did you ever notice how the media and law enforcement always assume it's the spouse that committed the crime? When Joan Diver was murdered, the police and the media labeled her husband as a "person of interest." They said he was not cooperating with law enforcement and people at his work said he was acting strange. I saw his picture on TV and thought they shouldn't even bother checking out any other leads. They had me convinced he did it. Diver is lucky Altemio Sanchez left one drop of sweat on the car's steering wheel. Had he not, Diver would probably be sitting in a jail cell right now or still trying to convince us all that he didn't kill his wife.

-A friend of mine tells a similar story about the murder of a Hillside St. woman years ago. She was known to be an acquaintance of an Arab American store owner named Tony. How an Arabian store owner got the name Tony is a topic for a different post on a different day. The word around the neighborhood was that Tony hung out with her a great deal and was the last person to see her alive. People started calling him the "Hillside St. strangler" behind his back. He was questioned and released by police before fleeing to the Middle East. Tony knew he was innocent but couldn't take the heat and rumors. Years later Dennis Donahue's DNA was linked to the murder scene. In fact, Donahue's DNA had a bad habit of showing up at other murder scenes as well. He is now suspected of killing Lynn DeJac's daughter as well as another former acquaintance. As far as Tony is concerned, we hardly knew you. So much for his faith in the American criminal justice system. Thank God for advances in DNA. After you listen to this song by the Talking Heads, please go forth and sin no more.





We Got a Bleeder!




Here is a story about a 15 year old boy from Tennessee. According to the story, he has a habit of bleeding out of his eyelids whenever he cries. His mother took him to get help and the doctors said, "What the hell are we supposed to do about it?" Apparently, because of his condition, he has become a huge hit at both wakes and funerals.

Why couldn't this have happened to me? I wouldn't waste my time going to a doctor. I'd grab a big bowl of onions, stand in front of a makeshift shrine, and take donations from people as I cried "tears of blood" for them. I might even bless some of them.

We've all seen it before in cases across the country where people claim some tree is cut out to look like John the Baptist or some other holy figure. The interesting part of the article is where they claim it might all be a hoax. They think he could be performing some sort of trick to make it happen in an effort to gain attention. The kids today will do the darndest things!
Teen who cries blood gets help from experts - CNN.com*

Sunday, September 6, 2009

South Buffalo Athletic Club Looking For Members

Photobucket src="http://i564.photobucket.com/albums/ss88/blakem/images8.jpg" border=0>
The South Buffalo Athletic Club was founded in 1993. It is a great organization that promotes fitness but not in an overbearing way. Many of the club's activities are social and community orientated. For example, every year they participate in the Bflo News kids day by helping to sell newspapers. You will see the club's name at the Tifft St. exit on Route 5 as they clean up that part of the highway each year. They are looking for more members to keep this great tradition going. Current members of the club include my good friends Barb and Barry Fitzgerald and Marty Farrell. Here is a link for the club. If you like to walk, run fast, run slow, or (like me) simply like to run your mouth, please consider joining the SBAC.
http://southbuffaloac.com/


When the running club was brought to my attention, for some reason it made me think about Terry Fox. Those of you old enough will remember he was the 21 year old cancer survivor with one leg who attempted to run across Canada in an effort to raise money for cancer research in 1980.

I like his story because of the way it started off small and took on a life of it's own. Fox began what would later be called the Marathon of Hope in St. John's, Newfoundland on April 12, 1980 with very little fanfare. There was no Internet back then. He ran all the way with only a few close friends monitoring his progress. At some point, he was allowed to do a ceremonial kickoff at a CFL football game. At that game, the crowd went crazy and his run became an international story. He ran 3,339 miles through Newfoundland, Novia Scotia, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Quebec, and Ontario. After 143 days, On September 1, 1980, Fox was forced to end his run in Thunder Bay, Ontario at a hastily called, emotional news conference. His cancer had returned and had spread throughout his body. At a telethon in his honor eight days later, TV actor Lee Majors called Fox "the real Six Million Dollar Man". I thought that was a great line and a great tribute. I remember there was some poll of Canadian citizens that ranked Fox as the most important Canadian athlete of all time over Wayne Gretzky, Gordie Howe, and Steve Nash. Not bad company for an "amateur" athlete.


He was ahead of his time because in 1980 it was unheard of for disabled people to even think about running. Prosthetic legs were not designed for walking very far, much less running. It was such a strange sight to see on the news each night as the crowds grew larger and larger. When Fox couldn't go on, it almost seemed to fire people up even more. Everyone wanted to become involved as a tribute to his efforts. Fox died on June 28, 1981 at the age of 22. I came across this clip regarding his Marathon of Hope and thought it was interesting.